Nedbank Golf Challenge Winners and History

Nedbank Golf Challenge Winners and History

Nedbank Golf Challenge Winners and History

Originally known as the Million Dollar Challenge, the Nedbank Golf Challenge is a limited field event played in South Africa since 1981. In 2016, the Nedbank Golf Challenge replaces the BMW Masters as part of the European Tour Final Series with a 72 player field. The top 64 available players from the Race To Dubai standings comprise most of the field. The remainder is made up of the defending champion, prior years winner of the Sunshine Tour order of merit, and tournament invitations.

Throughout most of the tournament’s history it was one of the “silly season” tournaments, wedged between the end of one professional golf season and the beginning of the next. In 2013, however, the Nedbank Golf Challenge became an official tournament for both South Africa’s Sunshine Tour, and for the European Tour. The event has counted toward the World Rankings points since 1999.

The Nedbank Golf Challenge has been held at the Gary Player Country Club in Sun City since its inception. The course is par 72, and measures 7.831 yards.

Nedbank Golf Challenge Winners and History

(I love watching South African golf on television. The courses look so amazing, and so different from what I play here in Michigan. Put South Africa on my golf bucket list)

For the first twenty two years of the tournament’s history, it had a field of 12 players, which included the defending champion, the Sunshine Tour money winner, any of the four major winners and filled out with the top available players in the Official World Golf Rankings. In 2013, the field expanded to thirty players: the defending champion,  the top ten Race to Dubai players,  the top ten PGA Tour FedEx Cup players, top playes on the Sunshine Tour, Japan Golf Tour and PGA Tour of Australasia Order of Merit, the Alfred Dunhill Championship winner and the top five South African players in the World Golf Rankings.

What has made the tournament stand out over the years is the money. From 2000 to 2002, first prize was more than half the purse. At some $2 million that reportedly made it the largest winner’s take in professional golf. In 2003, the winner’s share was reduced to thirty percent. For comparison, the standard on the PGA Tour is 18%. The percentage has since been further reduced so that it is in line with other tournaments.

A complete list of Nedbank Golf Challenge Winners follows.

YearPlayerCountryScoreWinner’s Share
2018Lee Westwood (3)England273 (-15)1, 250,000
2017Branden GraceSouth Africa277 (-11) 1,166,600
2016Alexander NorenSweden274 (-14) 1,166,600
2015Mark LeishmanAustralia269 (-19) 1,250,000
2014 Danny Willett England 270 (-18) 1,250,000
2013Thomas Bjørn Denmark268 (−20)1,250,000
2012Martin Kaymer Germany280 (−8)1,250,000
2011Lee Westwood (2) England273 (−15)1,250,000
2010Lee Westwood England271 (−17)1,250,000
2009Robert Allenby Australia277 (−11)PO1,200,000
2008Henrik Stenson Sweden267 (−21)1,200,000
2007Trevor Immelman South Africa272 (−16)1,200,000
2006Jim Furyk (2) United States276 (−12)1,200,000
2005Jim Furyk United States282 (−6)PO1,200,000
2004Retief Goosen South Africa281 (−7)1,200,000
2003Sergio García (2) Spain274 (−14)PO1,200,000
2002Ernie Els (3) South Africa267 (−21)2,000,000
2001Sergio García Spain268 (−20)PO2,000,000
2000Ernie Els (2) South Africa268 (−20)PO2,000,000
1999Ernie Els South Africa263 (−25)1,000,000
1998Nick Price (3) Zimbabwe273 (−15)PO1,000,000
1997Nick Price (2) Zimbabwe275 (−13)1,000,000
1996Colin Montgomerie Scotland274 (−14)PO1,000,000
1995Corey Pavin United States276 (−12)1,000,000
1994Nick Faldo England272 (−16)1,000,000
1993Nick Price Zimbabwe264 (−24)1,000,000
1992David Frost (3) South Africa276 (−12)1,000,000
1991Bernhard Langer (2) Germany272 (−16)1,000,000
1990David Frost (2) South Africa284 (−4)1,000,000
1989David Frost South Africa276 (−12)1,000,000
1988Fulton Allem South Africa278 (−10)1,000,000
1987Ian Woosnam Wales274 (−14)1,000,000
1986Mark McNulty Zimbabwe282 (−6)300,000
1985Bernhard Langer West Germany278 (−10)300,000
1984Seve Ballesteros (2) Spain279 (−9)300,000
1983Seve Ballesteros Spain274 (-14)300,000
1982Raymond Floyd United States280 (−8)PO300,000
1981Johnny Miller United States277 (−11)PO500,000

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: