Odds To Win The 2011 Dubai World Championship


Given the strength and starpower of the European Tour recently, the Dubai World Championship holds more than passing interest on this side of the pond. Rory McIlroy, Lee Westwood, Luke Donald, Martin Kaymer, Sergio Garcia, Charl Schwartzel, Ian Poulter …. all of these are as familiar to US fans as Woods, Mickelson, Stricker and Furyk.

Rory McIlroy is the bettors favorite at 5/1, but he’s been running himself ragged in recent weeks, is ill and has had at least three iv drips for rehydration. That’s not a recipe for winning in the desert.

Behind him are a number of probable winners: Lee Westwood (11/2), Luke Donald (10/1), Martin Kaymer (12/1), Sergio Garcia (14/1) and Paul Casey (18/1)

Garcia hasn’t gotten a lot of press lately—he’s given up spitting in ball cups, I suppose—but has quietly had a very good year with two wins and six top tens on the European Tour.  He had three more top tens on the PGA Tour. If Tiger Woods had a season like that, the media would be positively apoplectic in their praise.

Meanwhile, Luke Donald has simply been the best player on either (actually both) sides of the pond. A win here would put the cherry on the sundae of the best golf season in recent years.

The complete odds are below, courtesy of Bodog, the world’s largest betting destination.

Player Odds
Rory McIlroy 5/1  
Lee Westwood 11/2  
Luke Donald 10/1  
Martin Kaymer 12/1  
Sergio Garcia 14/1  
Paul Casey 18/1  
Charl Schwartzel 22/1  
Ian Poulter 22/1  
Robert Karlsson 22/1  
Graeme McDowell 28/1  
Alvaro Quiros 33/1  
Louis Oosthuizen 33/1  
Peter Hanson 33/1  
Anders Hansen 40/1  
Joost Luiten 40/1  
Retief Goosen 40/1  
Y-E Yang 40/1  
Alexander Noren 50/1  
Gonzalo Fernandez 50/1  
Ernie Els 66/1  
Francesco Molinari 66/1  
George Coetzee 66/1  
Gregory Havret 66/1  
Matteo Manassero 66/1  
Miguel Angel Jimenez 66/1  
Richie Ramsay 66/1  
Ross Fisher 66/1  
Simon Dyson 66/1  
Thomas Aiken 66/1  
Thomas Bjorn 66/1  
Edoardo Molinari 80/1  
Hennie Otto 80/1  
Jaco Van Zyl 80/1  
Jamie Donaldson 80/1  
Lorenzo Gagli 80/1  
David Horsey 100/1  
Nicolas Colsaerts 100/1  
Pablo Larrazabal 100/1  
Peter Lawrie 100/1  
Shane Lowry 100/1  
Darren Clarke 125/1  
David Lynn 125/1  
Gregory Bourdy 125/1  
Mark Foster 125/1  
Michael Hoey 125/1  
Rafael Cabrera -Bello 125/1  
Raphael Jacquelin 125/1  
Christian Nilsson 150/1  
Felipe Aguilar 150/1  
Fredrik Andersson Hed 150/1  
James Morrison 150/1  
Johan Edfors 150/1  
Rhys Davies 150/1  
Robert Rock 150/1  
Paul Lawrie 200/1  
Thorbjorn Olesen 200/1  
Scott Jamieson 250/1  
Thomas Levet 250/1  

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: