Omega Dubai Desert Classic Winners and History

Omega Dubai Desert Classic Winners and History

Dubai Desert Classic Winners and History

The first European Tour event to be staged in the Middle East, the Dubai Desert Classic was inaugurated in 1989. It currently is one of three played in the Emirates.

With the exception of two tournaments (1999 and 2000) it has been played at the Majlis course at the Emirates Golf Club.

A few factoids:

  • The tournament record were set by Thomas Bjorn in 2000. Aggregate: 266 ; To par: −22.
  • With three wins, Ernie Els has won the most titles (1994, 2002, 2005).
  • In 1994, Els shot a tournament record 61—11 under par.
  • Tiger Woods has won twice.
  • At just under 20 years old, Rory McIlroy is the youngest winner (2009)
  • Mark O’Meara was the oldest winner, aged 47.
  • The tournament’s 19 different winners hail from 12 different nations.
  • Martin Kaymer has played in every one of the tournament’s editions.

From a business perspective, the Desert Classic has gained some notoriety for the generous appearance fees that it pays top stars.

A complete list of Dubai Desert Classic Winners is below:

 Omega Dubai Desert Classic

2019Bryson DeChambeauUS264 (-24)
2018Li HaotongChina265 (-23)
2017Sergio GarciaSpain269 (-19)
2016 Danny Willett England 269 (-19)
2015Rory McIlroyNorthern Ireland266 (–22)
2014Stephen Gallacher Scotland272 (–16)
2013Stephen Gallacher Scotland266 (–22)
2012Rafael Cabrera-Bello Spain270 (–18)
2011Álvaro Quirós Spain277 (–11)
2010Miguel Ángel Jiménez Spain277 (−11)
Dubai Desert Classic
2009Rory McIlroy Northern Ireland269 (−19)
2008Tiger Woods United States274 (−14)
2007Henrik Stenson Sweden269 (−19)
2006Tiger Woods United States269 (−19)
2005Ernie Els South Africa269 (−19)
2004Mark O’Meara United States271 (−17)
2003Robert-Jan Derksen Netherlands271 (−17)
2002Ernie Els South Africa272 (−16)
2001Thomas Bjørn Denmark266 (−22)
2000José Cóceres Argentina274 (−14)
1999David Howell England275 (−13)
1998José María Olazábal Spain269 (−19)
1997Richard Green Australia272 (−16)
1996Colin Montgomerie Scotland270 (−18)
1995Fred Couples United States268 (−20)
1994Ernie Els South Africa268 (−20)
1993Wayne Westner South Africa274 (−14)
1992Seve Ballesteros Spain272 (−16)
Emirates Airlines Desert Classic
1990Eamonn Darcy Ireland276 (−12)
Karl Litten Desert Classic
1989Mark James England277 (−11)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: