Omega European Masters Winners and History

omega - Copy

Originally the Swiss Open, the Omega European Masters dates to 1905. It became a regular event in 1923 and was one of the original tournaments of the European Tour at its inception in 1972.

Omega is, of course, one of the world’s premier luxury watch brands. Founded as  La Generale Watch Co. in 1848, it adopted the name Omega in 1903.

A list of Omega European Masters Winners follows:

YearWinnerScoreTo ParMargin
2022Thriston Lawrence262-18Playoff
2021Rasmus Hojgaard267-131 stroke
2019Sebastian Soderberg266 -14Playoff
2018Matthew Fitzpatrick (2)263 -17Playoff
2017Matthew Fitzpatrick26
2016Alexander Noren263 -17Playoff
2015Danny Willett263-171 stroke
2014David Lipsky262-18Playoff
2013Thomas Bjørn (2)264-20Playoff
2012Richie Ramsay267-174 strokes
2011Thomas Bjørn264-204 strokes
2010Miguel Ángel Jiménez263-213 strokes
2009Alexander Norén264-202 strokes
2008Jean-François Lucquin271-13Playoff
2007Brett Rumford268-16Playoff
2006Bradley Dredge267-178 strokes
2005Sergio García270-141 stroke
2004Luke Donald265-195 strokes
2003Ernie Els267-176 strokes
2002Robert Karlsson270-144 strokes
2001Ricardo González268-163 strokes
2000Eduardo Romero (2)261-2310 strokes
1999Lee Westwood270-142 strokes
1998Sven Strüver263-21Playoff
1997Costantino Rocca266-181 stroke
1996Colin Montgomerie260-224 strokes
1995Mathias Grönberg270-182 strokes
1994Eduardo Romero266-221 stroke
1993Barry Lane270-181 stroke
1992Jamie Spence271-17Playoff
Masters Swiss Open
1991Jeff Hawkes268-201 stroke
Ebel European
Masters Swiss Open
1990Ronan Rafferty267-212 strokes
1989Seve Ballesteros (3)266-202 strokes
1988Chris Moody268-201 stroke
1987Anders Forsbrand263-253 strokes
1986José María Olazábal262-263 strokes
1985Craig Stadler267-212 strokes
1984Jerry Anderson261-275 strokes
1983Nick Faldo268-20Playoff
1982Ian Woosnam272-16Playoff
Swiss Open   
1981Manuel Piñero (2)277-11Playoff
1980Nick Price267-216 strokes
1979Hugh Baiocchi275-55 strokes
1978Seve Ballesteros (2)272-83 strokes
1977Seve Ballesteros273-73 strokes
1976Manuel Piñero274-63 strokes
1975Dale Hayes273-71 stroke
1974Bob Charles (2)275-51 stroke
1973Hugh Baiocchi278-21 stroke
1972Graham Marsh270-101 stroke
Pre European
Tour Swiss Open
1971Peter Townsend270 (?10)1 stroke
1970Graham Marsh2748 strokes
1969Roberto Bernardini (2)277 
1968Roberto Bernardini272Playoff
1967Randall Vines2722 strokes
1966Alfonso Angelini (2)271 
1965Harold Henning (3)208 
1964Harold Henning (2)276 
1963Dai Rees (3)278Playoff
1962Bob Charles272Playoff
1961Kel Nagle2682 strokes
1960Harold Henning270 
1959Dai Rees (2)2741 stroke
1958Ken Bousfield272 
1957Alfonso Angelini270 
1956Dai Rees278 
1955Flory Van Donck (2)277 
1954Bobby Locke276 
1953Flory Van Donck267 
1952Ugo Grappasonni267 
1951Eric Brown267 
1950Aldo Casera276 
1949Marcel Dallemagne (3)270 
1948Ugo Grappasonni285 
1940–47No tournament  
1939Fifi Calavo273 
1938Jean Saubaber  
1937Marcel Dallemagne (2) 
1936Francis Francis (Amateur) 
1935Auguste Boyer (3)  
1934Auguste Boyer (2)  
1932–33No tournament  
1931Marcel Dallemagne 
1930Auguste Boyer  
1929Alex Wilson  
1927–28No tournament  
1926Alec Ross (3)  
1925Alec Ross (2)  
1924Percy Boomer  
1923Alec Ross  
1905Arthur Reid15513 strokes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.