PGA Tour Championship Winners and History

TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola2

The final event of the PGA Tour season the Tour Championship has since 2007 been the final event in the FedEx Cup playoffs.

When it debuted in 1987, the PGA Tour Championship featured the top 30 players from the year’s money list. The tournament took place in November, just after the corresponding event on the European Tour. The event finalized the money list for the season.

To avoid the college and football seasons, the 2019 Tour Championship has been pushed up to August from September, where it had been scheduled since 2007.

The 2019 edition introduces other changes as well. First, the FedEx Cup playoffs were truncated from four events to three. Thirty players still qualify for the event, however.

Second, the confusing points system has been modified to give players “strokes” heading into the tournament. The playoff leader, for example, will start at -10. The second place player starts at -8. The third seed is at -7; fourth at -6; the fifth at -5. Seeds 6 – 10 begin the tournament at -4; 11 – 15 at -3; 16 – 20 at -2; 21-25 at -1. Seeds 26 – 30 start at even par.

The new system is both easier to understand and eliminates the possibility of having one player win the Tour Championship and another win the Fedex Cup. (for example, in 2008, the Tour Championship was won by Camilo Villegas, while Vijay Singh won the FedEx Cup. In 2009, Phil Mickelson won the Tour Championship, while Tiger Woods won the FedEx Cup.)

A complete list of PGA TOUR Championship Winners follows:

Tour Championship by Coca-Cola
2019Rory McIlroy (2)Northern Ireland267 (-18)
2018Tiger Woods (3)United States269 (-11)
2017Xander SchauffeleUnited States268 (-12)
2016Rory McIlroyNorthern Ireland268 (-12) PO
2015Jordan SpiethUnited States271 (-9)
2014Billy Horschel United States269 (-11)
2013Henrik Stenson Sweden267 (-13)
2012Brandt Snedeker United States270 (-10)
2011Bill Haas United States272 (-8)
The Tour Championship presented by Coca-Cola
2010Jim Furyk United States272 (-8)
2009Phil Mickelson (2) United States271 (-9)
2008Camilo Villegas Colombia273 (-7)
2007Tiger Woods (2) United States257 (-23)
2006Adam Scott Australia269 (-11)
2005Bart Bryant United States263 (-17)
2004Retief Goosen South Africa269 (-11)
2003Chad Campbell United States268 (-16)
2002Vijay Singh Fiji268 (-12)
The Tour Championship presented by Dynegy
2001Mike Weir Canada270 (-14)
The Tour Championship presented by Southern Company
2000Phil Mickelson United States267 (-13)
1999Tiger Woods United States269 (-15)
1998Hal Sutton United States274 (-6)
The Tour Championship
1997David Duval United States273 (-11)
1996Tom Lehman United States268 (-12)
1995Billy Mayfair United States280 (E)
1994Mark McCumber United States274 (-10)
1993Jim Gallagher, Jr. United States277 (-7)
1992Paul Azinger United States276 (-8)
1991Craig Stadler United States277 (-7)
Nabisco Championship
1990Jodie Mudd United States273 (-11)
1989Tom Kite United States276 (-8)
1988Curtis Strange United States279 (-9)
1987Tom Watson United States268 (-12)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: