PGA Grand Slam of Golf Past Winners and History


The PGA Grand Slam of Golf is an annual four-man golf tournament featuring that year’s winners of golf’s four Major Championships (at least usually. see below). The event is organized by the PGA of America, not the PGA Tour. The inaugural year was 1979, but the event had several years in which it was not played.

The four invitations are issued to the winners of the four modern Majors: The Masters, the US Open, the Open Championship and the PGA Championship. If one player has won multiple events, or declines the invitation, another is given to a former major winner with the best overall finish in that year’s majors.

The format for the event has varied. As currently construed, it’s a two day, 36 hole tournament. It also has been staged as match play (1988 and 1999), and a one day 18 hole event (1979 – 1990). The Grand Slam was originally a wandering tournament, before settling in at the Poipu Bay Course in Hawaii from 1994 – 2006. In 2007, it moved to Bermuda.

The current prize fund is $1.35 million, of which $600,000 goes to the winner, and a $200,000 last place finish.

Past results are below. The letter after the name indicates the tournament won (a=alternate; M=Masters; U=US Open; O=Open Championship; P=PGA Championship.)

2012Adam Scott (M)Justin Rose (U)Jason Dufner (P)Padraig Harrington (A)
2011Keegan Bradley (P)Charl Schwartzel (M)Rory McIlroy (U)Darren Clarke (O)
2010Ernie Els (a)David Toms (a)(tie) Martin Kaymer (P) & Graeme McDowell (U)
2009Lucas Glover (U)Ángel Cabrera (M)Stewart Cink (O)Yang Yong-eun (P)
2008Jim Furyk (a)Pádraig Harrington (OP)Retief Goosen (a)Trevor Immelman (M)
2007Ángel Cabrera (U)Pádraig Harrington (O)Jim Furyk (a)Zach Johnson (M)
2006Tiger Woods (OP)Jim Furyk (a)Geoff Ogilvy (U)Mike Weir (a)
2005Tiger Woods (MO)Phil Mickelson (P)Michael Campbell (U)Vijay Singh (a)
2004Phil Mickelson (M)Vijay Singh (P)Retief Goosen (U)Todd Hamilton (O)
2003Jim Furyk (U)Mike Weir (M)Shaun Micheel (P)Ben Curtis (O)
2002Tiger Woods (MU)(tie) Justin Leonard (a) & Davis Love III (a)Rich Beem (P)
2001Tiger Woods (M)David Toms (P)Retief Goosen (U)David Duval (O)
2000Tiger Woods (UOP)Vijay Singh (M)Tom Lehman (a)Paul Azinger (a)
1999Tiger Woods (P)Davis Love III (a)José María Olazábal (M)Paul Lawrie (O)
1998Tiger Woods (a)Vijay Singh (P)Lee Janzen (U)Mark O’Meara (MO)
1997Ernie Els (U)Tiger Woods (M)Davis Love III (P)Justin Leonard (O)
1996Tom Lehman (O)Steve Jones (U)Nick Faldo (M)Mark Brooks (P)
1995Ben Crenshaw (M)(tie) Steve Elkington (P) & Corey Pavin (U)John Daly (O)
1994Greg Norman (a)Nick Price (OP)Ernie Els (U)José María Olazábal (M)
1993Greg Norman (O)Paul Azinger (P)(tie) Lee Janzen (U) & Bernhard Langer (M)
1992Nick Price (P)Tom Kite (U)Fred Couples (M)Nick Faldo (O)
1991Ian Woosnam (M)Ian Baker-Finch (O)Payne Stewart (U)John Daly (P)
1990Andy North (a)Craig Stadler (a)Payne Stewart (P)Curtis Strange (U)
1989Curtis Strange (U)Craig Stadler (a)Ian Baker-Finch (a)Greg Norman (a)
1988Larry Nelson (P)(tie) Larry Mize (M) & Scott Simpson (U)Greg Norman (a)
1987No tournament
1986Greg Norman (O)Fuzzy Zoeller (a)(tie) Jack Nicklaus (M) & Bob Tway (P)
1983-85No tournament
1982Bill Rogers (O)David Graham (U)Larry Nelson (P)Tom Watson (M)
1981Lee Trevino (a)Tom Watson (O)Jack Nicklaus (UO)Seve Ballesteros (M)
1980Lanny Wadkins (a)Hale Irwin (U)(tie) David Graham (P) & Fuzzy Zoeller (M)
1979(tie) Andy North (U) & Gary Player (M)(tie) John Mahaffey (P) & Jack Nicklaus (O)

1 thought on “PGA Grand Slam of Golf Past Winners and History”

  1. The winners list is the who’s who of golf in the last 20 years.

    It’s a shame both Ernie Els and Rory McIlroy couldn’t compete this year. Padraig Harrington made the most of their withdrawal and completed a fine victory.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: