Players Championship Past Winners

The inaugural Tournament Players Championship was held in 1974 and the first winner was—no surprise—Jack Nicklaus.

Nicklaus won three times: 1974, 1976, and 1978, Other multiple winners have been Fred Couples (1984 and 1996), Steve Elkington (1991 and 1997), Davis Love III (1992 and 2003) and Hal Sutton (1983 and 2000).

The past champions are listed below:

YearPlayerScoreTo parMargin
The Players Championship
2021Justin Thomas274-141 stroke
2020Cancelled after 1st round due to COVID 19
2019Rory McIlroy272-161 stroke
2018Webb Simpson270−184 strokes
2017Kim Si-woo278−103 strokes
2016Jason Day273−154 strokes
2015Rickie Fowler276−12Playoff
2014Martin Kaymer275−131 stroke
2013Tiger Woods (2)275−132 strokes
2012Matt Kuchar275−132 strokes
2011K. J. Choi275−13Playoff
2010Tim Clark272−161 stroke
2009Henrik Stenson276−124 strokes
2008Sergio García283−5Playoff
2007Phil Mickelson277−112 strokes
2006Stephen Ames274−146 strokes
2005Fred Funk279−91 stroke
2004Adam Scott276−121 stroke
2003Davis Love III (2)271−176 strokes
2002Craig Perks280−82 strokes
2001Tiger Woods274−141 stroke
2000Hal Sutton (2)278−101 stroke
1999David Duval285−32 strokes
1998Justin Leonard278−102 strokes
1997Steve Elkington (2)272−167 strokes
1996Fred Couples (2)270−184 strokes
1995Lee Janzen283−51 stroke
1994Greg Norman264−244 strokes
1993Nick Price270−185 strokes
1992Davis Love III273−154 strokes
1991Steve Elkington276−121 stroke
1990Jodie Mudd278−101 stroke
1989Tom Kite279−91 stroke
1988Mark McCumber273−154 strokes
Tournament Players Championship
1987Sandy Lyle274−14Playoff
1986John Mahaffey275−131 stroke
1985Calvin Peete274−143 strokes
1984Fred Couples277−111 stroke
1983Hal Sutton283−51 stroke
1982Jerry Pate280−82 strokes
1981Raymond Floyd285−3Playoff
1980Lee Trevino278−101 stroke
1979Lanny Wadkins283−55 strokes
1978Jack Nicklaus (3)28911 stroke
1977Mark Hayes28912 strokes
1976Jack Nicklaus (2)269−193 strokes
1975Al Geiberger270−103 strokes
1974Jack Nicklaus272−162 strokes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.