PNC Championship -Father Son Challenge Winners and History

PNC Father-Son Challenge Winners and History

The PNC Championship — also known as the Father / Son Challenge — is a “silly season” golf event that pairs PGA TOUR and PGA TOUR Champions players with their children (historically their sons). In order to qualify for the event, the father must have won either a Major Championship or The Players Championship. The junior player cannot be a current touring professional.

In 2005, Fuzzy Zoeller played with his daughter, Gretchen. Bernard Langer played with daughter Christina in 2013 and 2016. Arnold Palmer played with his grandson Sam Saunders in 2013. Saunders was a touring professional for some time..

PNC Father Son Challenge Winners and History

In addition to the cash prize, the players vie for the Willie Park Trophy, named after the Father and Son Open Championship champions Willie Park, Sr. and Willie Park, Jr.

The tournament is played over two days in a scramble format.

The 2021 edition gained lots of attention for the re-appearance of Tiger Woods just ten months after his latest auto accident.

The 2022 leaderboard is below.

1Team Singh-265959118
T2Team Daly-246159120
T2Team Thomas-245763120
T3Team Harrington-226260122
2022 Leaderboard PNC Challenge

2021 Results

1Team Daly-276057117
2Team Woods-256257119
T3Team Thomas-246060120
T3Team Cink-245961120
2021 Final Results PNC Challenge

Raymond Floyd won five times with sons Raymond, Jr. and Robert. Bernhard Langer has three wins with sons Stefan and Jason. Larry Nelson has three wins with sons Josh and Drew.

  • 2022 Vijay Singh and Qass Singh
  • 2021 John Daly and John Daly II
  • 2020 Justin Thomas and Mike Thomas
  • 2019 Bernhard Langer and Jason Langer
  • 2018 Davis Love III and Davis “Dru” Love IV
  • 2017  Ángel Cabrera and Ángel Cabrera Jr
  • 2016  David Duval and Nick Karavites
  • 2015  Lanny Wadkins and Tucker Wadkins
  • 2014  Bernhard Langer and Jason Langer
  • 2013  Stewart Cink and Connor Cink
  • 2012  Davis Love III and Davis “Dru” Love IV

Del Webb Father/Son Challenge

  • 2009–11 No tournament
  • 2008  Larry Nelson and Drew Nelson
  • 2007  Larry Nelson and Josh Nelson
  • 2006  Bernhard Langer and Stefan Langer

MBNA WorldPoints Father/Son Challenge

  • 2005  Bernhard Langer and Stefan Langer

Office Depot Father/Son Challenge

  • 2004  Larry Nelson and Drew Nelson
  • 2003  Hale Irwin and Steve Irwin
  • 2002  Craig Stadler and Kevin Stadler
  • 2001  Raymond Floyd and Robert Floyd
  • 2000  Raymond Floyd and Robert Floyd
  • 1999  Jack Nicklaus and Gary Nicklaus
  • 1998  Bob Charles and David Charles
  • 1997  Raymond Floyd and Raymond Floyd Jr.
  • 1996  Raymond Floyd and Raymond Floyd Jr.
  • 1995  Raymond Floyd and Raymond Floyd Jr.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.