Porsche European Open Winners and History


First played in 1978, the European Open was held annually at courses in England, Scotland and Ireland unntil 2009. Following that, the European Open went on hiatus. In 2015, the tournament was revived as the Porsche European Open.

The current incarnation is played at the Bernhard Langer-designed Beckenbauer Course of the Golf Resort Bad Griesbach. The event carries a total prize of €2 million.

A list of past European Open Winners follows:

European Open Winners

YearWinnerCountryScoreTo parMargin
Porsche European Open
2017Jordan SmithEngland275-13Playoff
2016Alexander LevyFrance194 (54 holes)-19Playoff
2015Thongchai Jaidee Thailand267−171 stroke
European Open
2010–14No tournament
2009Christian Cévaër France281−71 stroke
2008Ross Fisher England268−207 strokes
Smurfit Kappa European Open
2007Colin Montgomerie Scotland269−111 stroke
2006Stephen Dodd Wales279−92 strokes
Smurfit European Open
2005Kenneth Ferrie England285−32 strokes
2004Retief Goosen South Africa275−135 strokes
2003Phillip Price Wales272−161 stroke
2002Michael Campbell New Zealand282−61 stroke
2001Darren Clarke Northern Ireland273−153 strokes
2000Lee Westwood (2) England276−121 stroke
1999Lee Westwood England271−173 strokes
1998Mathias Grönberg Sweden275−1310 strokes
1997Per-Ulrik Johansson (2) Sweden267−216 strokes
1996Per-Ulrik Johansson Sweden277−111 stroke
1995Bernhard Langer (2) Germany280−8Playoff
European Open
1994David Gilford England275−135 strokes
GA European Open
1993Gordon Brand, Jnr (2) Scotland275−137 strokes
1992Nick Faldo England262−183 strokes
1991Mike Harwood Australia277−112 strokes
Panasonic European Open
1990Peter Senior Australia267−131 stroke
1989Andrew Murray England277−111 stroke
1988Ian Woosnam Wales260−203 strokes
1987Paul Way England279−92 strokes
1986Greg Norman Australia269−11Playoff
1985Bernhard Langer West Germany269−113 strokes
1984Gordon Brand, Jnr Scotland270−103 strokes
1983Isao Aoki Japan274−62 strokes
European Open Championship
1982Manuel Piñero Spain266−142 strokes
Dixcel Tissues European Open
1981Graham Marsh Australia275−132 strokes
European Open Championship
1980Tom Kite United States284−81 stroke
1979Sandy Lyle Scotland275−97 strokes
1978Bobby Wadkins United States283−5Playoff
European Open Winners

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: