Portland Classic Winners and History

Portland Classic Winners and History

The Portland Classic currently is the oldest continuous event on the LPGA Tour. First played in 1972, it has operated under a number of different names, and in two different formats: from 1977 to 1982, it was a team event.

For most of the event’s life, it was a 54 hole event. This changed in 2013, when it moved to 72 holes.

  • 1972: Portland Ladies Classic
  • 1973: Portland Ladies Open
  • 1974–75: Portland Ladies Classic
  • 1976: Portland Classic
  • 1977: LPGA National Team Championship
  • 1978: Ping Classic Team Championship
  • 1979–82: Portland Ping Team Championship
  • 1983–85: Portland Ping Championship
  • 1986–89: Cellular One-Ping Golf Championship
  • 1990: Ping-Cellular One Golf Championship
  • 1991–94: Ping-Cellular One LPGA Golf Championship
  • 1995: Ping-AT&T Wireless Services LPGA Golf Championship
  • 1996–2000: Safeway LPGA Golf Championship
  • 2001–02: Safeway Classic
  • 2003–08: Safeway Classic Presented by Pepsi
  • 2009–13: Safeway Classic Presented by Coca-Cola
  • 2014: Portland Classic Presented by Cambia Health Solutions
  • 2015: Cambia Portland Classic
  • 2016: Cambia Portland Classic Presented by JTBC
  • 2022: Amazing CRE Portland Classic

YearChampionWinning ScoreTo ParMargin
Amazingcre Portland Classic
2022Andrea Lee269-191 shot
Portland Classic
2021 (shortened due to rain)Jin Young Ko205-114 shots
2020 (shortened
to 54 holes
due to wildfires)
Georgia Hall204-12Playoff
2019Hannah Green267-211 stroke
2018Marina Alex269-194 strokes
2017Stacy Lewis268-201 stroke
2016Henderson (2)274−144 strokes
2015Brooke Henderson267−218 strokes
2014Austin Ernst274−14Playoff
2013Suzann Pettersen (2)268−202 strokes
2012Mika Miyazato203−132 strokes
2011Suzann Pettersen207−6Playoff
2010Ai Miyazato205−112 strokes
2009M. J. Hur203−13Playoff
2008Cristie Kerr203−13Playoff
2007Lorena Ochoa204−125 strokes
2006Pat Hurst206−101 stroke
2005Soo-Yun Kang201−154 strokes
2004Hee-Won Han207−9Playoff
2003Annika Sörenstam (2)201−151 stroke
2002Annika Sörenstam199−171 stroke
2001Tournament Cancelled Because of Sept 11 attacks
2000Mi Hyun Kim215−1Playoff
1999uli Inkster207−96 strokes
1998Danielle Ammaccapane204−121 stroke
1997Christa Johnson206−101 stroke
1996 Dottie Pepper202−142 strokes
1995Alison Nicholas207−91 stroke
1994Missie McGeorge207−91 stroke
1993Donna Andrews208−81 stroke
1992Nancy Lopez (3)209−7Playoff
1991Michelle Estill208−81 stroke
1990Patty Sheehan208−81 stroke
1989Muffin Spencer-Devlin214−21 stroke
1988Betsy King213−31 stroke
1987Nancy Lopez210−61 stroke
1986Ayako Okamoto207−96 strokes
1985Nancy Lopez215−1Playoff
1984Amy Alcott212−41 stroke
1983JoAnne Carner212−4Playoff
played from
1977 through
1982 as
team event
1982Sandra Haynie & Kathy McMullen196−202 strokes
1981Donna Caponi & Cathy Whitworth203−16Playoff
1980Donna Caponi & Cathy Whitworth195−244 strokes
1979Nancy Lopez & Jo Ann Washam198−211 stroke
1978Donna Caponi & Kathy Witworth203−16Playoff
1977JoAnne Carner & Judy Rankin202−17Playoff
1976Donna Caponi217−2Playoff
1975Jo Ann Washam215−11 stroke
1974 JoAnne Carner211−52 strokes
1973 Kathy Whitworth144^−22 strokes
1972Kathy Whitworth212−74 strokes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.