Presidents Cup Winners and History


Modeled on the Ryder Cup, the Presidents Cup is a biennial competition between US and non-European international players. It was created by—and continues to be run by—the PGA Tour.

The Presidents Cup is a match play event, consisting of a mix of eleven foursome doubles (alternate shot), eleven four ball doubles and twelve singles matches. Each match is worth a single point. A victory consists of at least 17.5 points. Half points are awarded for ties in the foursomes and four balls. Sunday singles matches, on the other hand are played until one player wins outright.

The inaugural Presidents Cup event was held in 1994, with Hale Irwin and David Graham as Captains. Gerald Ford served as Honorary Chairman. The event was initially to be scheduled on even numbered years, alternating with the Ryder Cup. When the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2000 occurred, however, both the Ryder and Presidents Cups were pushed back a year. The Ryder Cup now is even years, and the Presidents Cup in Odd years.

A host of international leaders have served as honorary chairmen since Gerald Ford: President George H. W. Bush, then-Australian Prime Minister John Howard, then-President Bill Clinton, the former President of South Africa Thabo Mbeki, George W. Bush and the Prime Minister of Canada Stephen Harper.

A list of the President’s Cup Winners, their margin of victories and team captains follow:

YearVenueWinnerScoreCaptain USCaptain International
2022Quail HollowUS17.5-12.5Davis Love IIITrevor Immelman
2019Royal MelbourneUS16-14Tiger WoodsErnie Els
2017Liberty National Golf Club, Jersey CityUS19-11Steve StrickerNick Price
2015Jack Nicklaus Golf Club, Incheon South KoreaUS15.5 – 14.5Jay HaasNick Price
2013Muirfield Village, OhioUS18.5 – 15.5Fred CouplesNick Price
2011Royal MelbourneUS19-15Fred CouplesGreg Norman
2009Harding ParkUS19.5 – 14.5Fred CouplesGreg Norman
2007Royal MontrealUS19.5 – 14.5Jack NicklausGary Player
2005Robert Trent Jones GC
(Gainesville VA)
US18.5 – 15.5Jack NicklausGary Player
2003Fancourt Hotel and
Country Club Estate (South Africa)
Tie17 – 17Jack NicklausGary Player
2000Robert Trent Jones GC
(Gainesville VA)
US21.5 – 10.5Ken VenturiPeter Thompson
1998Royal MelbourneINT20.5 – 11.5Jack NicklausPeter Thompson
1996Robert Trent Jones GC
(Gainesville VA)
US16.5 – 15.5Arnold PalmerPeter Thompson
1994Robert Trent Jones GC
(Gainesville VA)
US20 – 12Hale IrwinDavid Graham

4 thoughts on “Presidents Cup Winners and History”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.