President’s Cup Pre Tournament Notes

What: The Presidents Cup
When: October 1-6, 2013
Location: Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin-Columbus, Ohio, USA
Golf Course Architect Jack Nicklaus (1974)
Par/Yardage: Front: 3,660 Par 36
Back: 3,694 Par 36
Total: 7,354 Par 72

The Presidents Cup, a team match play competition featuring 24 of the world’s top golfers – 12 from the United States and 12 from around the world, excluding Europe – is held every two years, and since 1996 has alternated between United States and international venues.


  • U.S. Team Captain Fred Couples returns in an attempt to win for a record third time after making victories in San Francisco (2009) and Melbourne, Australia (2011).
  • Nick Price makes his debut as International
    Team Captain. The International Team is looking for its second outright victory.


  • The Presidents Cup competition consists of 34 matches – 11 Foursomes (alternate shot) and 11 Fourball (better-ball) matches.
  • There are 12 Singles matches involving all players on the final Sunday.
  • All matches are worth one point each, for a total of 34 points. There are no playoffs for Foursomes or Four-ball, with each side receiving ½ a point if the match finishes all-square.
  • Singles matches all square after 18 holes will go extra holes until a team winner is determined.
  • In a change inspired by the events of The Presidents Cup 2003, if the match is deadlocked at the end of play, the competition will be deemed a tie and the teams will share the Cup.

    Charitable Distributions:

  • Unlike many other events, the players do not receive prize money based on performance. Instead, the PGA TOUR pledges to contribute to charities, which are nominated by the players, captains and captains’ assistants from both teams.
  • On behalf of the players, captains and captains’ assistants, more than $4.5 million was distributed to charitable causes from The Presidents Cup 2011.


  • U.S. Team – The top 10 U.S. players who earned the most official PGA TOUR money beginning with the 2011 TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola through the 2013 Deutsche Bank Championships (ending Monday, Sept. 2), weighted as follows:
    • 2011-2012 $1 = 1 point
    • 2013 $1 = 2 points
  • Plus two Captain’s selections made on Wednesday, Sept. 4, 2013.

    International Team

  • The top 10 international players (excluding those eligible for the European Ryder Cup team) from the Official World Golf Ranking as of Monday, Sept. 2, 2013 (post-Deutsche Bank Championship), and two Captain’s selections made on Wednesday, Sept. 4, 2013.

    Team Info and Miscellaneous Notes

  • The Presidents Cup teams boast 11 major championship winners (33 major titles overall).
  • There are 11 players making their Presidents Cup debuts in 2013, the most ever in the history of the competition, ahead of 2003 and 2011 when there were 10 total “rookies.” (Not including the inaugural event).


  • International Team: Louis Oosthuizen, Hideki Matsuyama, Branden Grace, Graham DeLaet, Richard Sterne, Marc Leishman and Brendon de
  • U.S. Team: Brandt Snedeker, Keegan Bradley, Jason Dufner and Jordan Spieth
  • With de Jonge and Leishman as captain’s picks, the International Team has five players from South Africa, three Australians, and one player from Japan, Canada, Argentina and Zimbabwe, matching 1994, 1996, 2003, 2005 and 2007 for most countries represented.
  • There have never been more than four South Africans on the International Team in event history (2007), and only Australia has had five players on the International Team at one time (1994, 1996, 2003, 2005 and 2011).
  • International countries represented over the history of the Presidents Cup: 11 – Argentina, Australia, Canada, Colombia, Fiji, Japan, New Zealand, Paraguay, South Africa, South Korea, Zimbabwe
  • The U.S. Team has 28 previous Presidents Cup appearances amongst its members, including three players who have won at Muirfield Village Golf Club, site of this year’s event (Matt Kuchar-2013, Steve Stricker-2011 and Tiger Woods-2012, 2009, 2001, 2000, 1999). For the International Team, those numbers are 17 and one (Ernie Els, 2004).
  • Phil Mickelson is the only player on either team to have competed in all 10 editions of The Presidents Cup.

    Most matches played:

    42 Phil Mickelson, U.S. (1994, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011)

    40 Vijay Singh, International (1994, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009)

    Most matches won:
    20 Jim Furyk, U.S. (20-10-3)

    20 Tiger Woods, U.S. (20-14-1)

    18 Phil Mickelson, U.S. (18-14-10)

    17 Ernie Els, International (17-16-2)

    Players to go undefeated at The Presidents Cup (NO HALVES)
    1994 – Fred Couples 3-0-0

    1996 – David Duval 4-0-0

    Mark O’Meara 5-0-0

    1998 – Shigeki Maruyama 5-0-0

    2000 – Stewart Cink 4-0-0

    Davis Love III 4-0-0

    2007 – Scott Verplank 4-0-0

    2009 – Tiger Woods 5-0-0

    2011 – Jim Furyk 5-0-0

    Players to go undefeated at The Presidents Cup (INCLUDING HALVES)

    1994 – Davis Love III 4-0-1

    1998 – Steve Elkington 3-0-2

    2000 – Kirk Triplett 3-0-1

    2005 – Retief Goosen 4-0-1

    Chris DiMarco 4-0-1

    Jim Furyk 3-0-2

    Phil Mickelson 3-0-2

    2007 – David Toms 4-0-1

    2009 – Vijay Singh 2-0-3

    Phil Mickelson 4-0-1

    Most matches lost in one year
    5 Ernie Els, International (2000)

    5 Phil Mickelson, U.S. (2003)

    Shortest match:

    12 holes David Frost (International) def. Kenny Perry (U.S.), 7 and 6 (1996 Sunday Singles)

    Adam Scott & K.J. Choi (International) def. Tiger Woods & Steve Stricker (U.S.), 7 and 6 (2011
    Thursday Foursomes)
    13 holes 14 times

    Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!
    Become a patron at Patreon!
  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: