Puerto Rico Open Winners and History

The Puerto Rico Open is the first PGA Tour Tournament held in Puerto Rico, and it serves as an alternate tournament to the WGC Mexico Championship.

The Puerto Rico Open’s inaugural year was 2008, when it was presented by Banco Popular. Since 2011, it has been presented by seepuertorico.com and played at the Coco Beach Golf and Country Club. The inaugural tournament was won by Greg Craft.

In 2018, in the wake of the destruction of Hurricane Maria, the Puerto Rico Open became an unofficial fundraising event, with a win by the team of George McNeill and Cheyenne Woods.

The Puerto Rico Open winner earns 300 FedEx Cup points, and 24 OWGR points (the WGC-Cadillac, played the same week, is worth 550/70-80)

As an alternate field event, the Puerto Rico Open generally does not attract big name players. It strikes me, though, as a good place for a journeyman player to make his name and secure his card.

YearPlayerCountryScoreTo par
Puerto Rico Open
2021Branden GraceSouth Africa269-19
2020Viktor HovlandNorway268-20
2019Martin TrainerUnited States275-15
2018 (Charity Event)George McNeill and Cheyenne WoodsUnited StatesNANA
2017D.A. PointsUnited States268– 20
2016Tony FinauUnited States276-12 (PO)
2015Alex ČejkaGermany281-7 (PO)
2014Chesson HadleyUnited States267-19
2013Scott BruwnUnited States268-20
2012George McNeillUnited States272-16
2011Michael BradleyUnited States272-16
Puerto Rico Open presented by Banco Popular
2010Derek LamelyUnited States269-19
2009Michael BradleyUnited States274-14
2008Greg KraftUnited States274-14
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: