Race To The CME Globe Winners and History

Race To The CME Globe WInners

Race To The CME Globe Winners and History

The Race To The CME Globe is a season long points race on the LPGA Tour. Introduced in 2014, the race culminates in the CME Group Tour Championship.

During the LPGA season, players accumulate points based on tournament finishes. The winner of the Race to the CME Globe is determined through a combination of season-long points, and points earned during the CME Group Tour Championship. To prevent a forgone conclusion to the season, points are reset before the CME Group Tour Championship, based on each player’s position in the points list. Points earned during the Tour Championship are then added to the “reset points” to determine the overall Race to the CME Globe Winner. The “reset” points are such that only the top 12 actually have a chance of winning the Race To The CME Globe.

Points are awarded at all official events. In most events, players who make the cut earn points based on their position. In no-cut tournaments, only those in the top 40 and ties earn CME Globe points. Lorena Ochoa Match Play participants who advance to the round of 32 earn points.  Winners of regular tour events earn 500 points; a second place finish is worth 300; third, 190 and so forth. Winners of majors earn 625 points, with a second being worth 375.

The Tour Championship field consists of the top 72 players in the points standings, non-members with a win, and members who are not in the top 72, but who have a win.

Race To The CME Globe winners receive a $1 million bonus. First place winners of the Tour Championship receive a$500,000 share of the $2.5 million purse.

The CME in the title is CME Group, a Chicago-based financial securities group. CME recently extended its sponsorship to 2023.

A list of Race To The CME Globe Winners follows:

CME Globe Race Winners

2018Ariya JutanugarnThailand6760
2017Lexi Thompson United States7450
2016Ariya Jutanugarn Thailand6800
2015Lydia Ko (2) New Zealand6000
2014Lydia Ko New Zealand7500
CME Globe Race Winners

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: