Regions Tradition Winners and History

Regions Greystone

Regions Tradition Winners and History

The Regions Tradition is the “Fifth Major” for the Champions Tour, along with the US Senior Open, the Senior Open Championship, the Senior PGA and the Senior Players Championship.

The field at the Regions Tradition consists of 81 Champions Tour professionals. Eligibility includes

  • The top 20 players from last year’s money list
  • The top 30 from the All Time money list
  • Winners of approved Champions Tour events in the past year
  • Winners of Major Championships in the previous five years
  • Players eligible under World Golf Hall of Fame rules
  • The top four available and not otherwise exempt from this year’s money list.
  • Additional players needed to fill the field, alternating between the All Time money list and the previous year’s money list.

First played in 1989, the tournament originally was held on the Cochise Course of the Golf Club at Desert Mountain in Scottsdale. Don Bies won the inaugural title.

In 2011, the Tradition replaced the Regions Charity Classic, which had been an Alabama staple since 1992.

Current sponsor Regions Financial is a consumer and commercial banking firm with offices across the south, midwest and Texas.

The current venue for the championship is Greystone Golf and Country Club. The Founders Course was designed by Bob Cupp and Hubert Green.

The previous venue, Shoal Creek, was the object of some controversy in 1990 when civil rights groups protested the club’s lack of minority membership prior to the PGA Championship. Under pressure, the club admitted a single African-American member, local businessman Louis J. Willie. The incident prompted the USGA and PGA to adopt rules requiring membership diversity at courses hosting events.

A complete list of Regions Tradition Winners follows:

Regions Tradition
2019Steve Stricker
2018Miguel Angel Jimenez
2017Bernhard Langer
2016Bernhard Langer
2015 Jeff Maggert
2014Kenny Perry
2013David Frost
2012Tom Lehman (2)
2011Tom Lehman
JELD-WEN Tradition
2010Fred Funk (2)
2009Mike Reid
2008Fred Funk
2007Mark McNulty
2006Eduardo Romero
2005Loren Roberts
2004Craig Stadler
2003Tom Watson
The Countrywide Tradition
2002Jim Thorpe
2001Doug Tewell
2000Tom Kite
The Tradition presented by Countrywide
1999Graham Marsh
1998Gil Morgan (2)
1997Gil Morgan
The Tradition
1996Jack Nicklaus (4)
1995Jack Nicklaus (3)
1994Raymond Floyd
1993Tom Shaw
1992Lee Trevino
The Tradition at Desert Mountain
1991Jack Nicklaus (2)
1990Jack Nicklaus
1989Don Bies
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: