Ricoh Women’s British Open Winners And History

Women's British Open Winners


Women’s British Open Winners and History

The Women’s British Open was established in 1976 by the Ladies Golf Union, the governing body for women’s and girls’ amateur golf in Great Britain and Ireland. The event was intended to be the equivalent of the Open Championship but it was initially difficult to gain acceptance. Of the courses considered most prestigious in the Open Championship rota, Royal Birkdale was the only one to step forward.

The tournament’s difficulties continued to the point where it was forced to skip 1983. When it returned, it was to relatively unknown courses such as the Woburn Golf and Country Club, where it resided for ten years.

During the period from 1976 to 1993, the tournament was sanctioned only by the Ladies European Tour, with the exception of the 1984 edition, which was cosanctioned by the LPGA.

The LPGA’s sanction of the tournament in 1994 served to increase both in terest in the tournament and the quality of the field. Four years later, the event was held at Royal Lytham and St. Annes. It has since been held at Carnoustie, Royal Liverpool and St. Andrews—all courses which have hosted the Open Championship. The organizers of the Women’s British Open, however, have opted not to follow the lead of the Open Championship and limit the tournament to just the classic links courses.

In 2001, the LPGA granted the British Women’s Open Major status, replacing the du Maurier Classic.

A list of past Women’s British Open Winners follows:

YearVenueChampionCountryScoreTo ParMargin
2017KingsbarnsIn-Kyung KimSouth Korea270-182 strokes
2016England Woburn Golf and Country ClubArya JutanugarnThailand272-163 strokes
2015Scotland Trump Turnberry - Ailsa CourseInbee ParkSouth Korea276-123 strokes
2014England Royal Birkdale Golf ClubMo MartinUnited States287-11 stroke
2013Scotland Old Course at St AndrewsStacy LewisUnited States 280-82 strokes
2012England Royal Liverpool Golf ClubJiyai ShinSouth Korea279-99 strokes
2011Scotland Carnoustie Golf LinksYani Tseng Taiwan272-164 strokes
2010England Royal Birkdale Golf ClubYani Tseng Taiwan277-111 stroke
2009England Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf ClubCatriona Matthew Scotland285-33 strokes
2008England Sunningdale Golf ClubJiyai Shin South Korea270-183 strokes
2007Scotland Old Course at St AndrewsLorena Ochoa Mexico287-54 strokes
2006England Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf ClubSherri Steinhauer United States281-73 strokes
2005England Royal Birkdale Golf ClubJeong Jang South Korea272-164 strokes
2004England Sunningdale Golf ClubKaren Stupples England269-195 strokes
2003England Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf ClubAnnika Sörenstam Sweden278-101 stroke
2002Scotland Turnberry - Ailsa CourseKarrie Webb Australia273-152 strokes
2001England Sunningdale Golf ClubSe Ri Pak South Korea277-112 strokes
2000England Royal Birkdale Golf ClubSophie Gustafson Sweden282-62 strokes
1999England Woburn Golf and Country ClubSherri Steinhauer United States283-51 stroke
1998England Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf ClubSherri Steinhauer United States29241 stroke
1997England Sunningdale Golf ClubKarrie Webb Australia269-198 strokes
1996England Woburn Golf and Country ClubEmilee Klein United States277-117 strokes
1995England Woburn Golf and Country ClubKarrie Webb Australia278-106 strokes
1994England Woburn Golf and Country ClubLiselotte Neumann Sweden280-83 strokes
1993Woburn Golf and Country ClubKaren Lunn Australia275
1992Woburn Golf and Country ClubPatty Sheehan United States207*
1991Woburn Golf and Country ClubPenny Grice-Whittaker England284
1990Woburn Golf and Country ClubHelen Alfredsson Sweden288
1989Ferndown Golf ClubJane Geddes United States274
1988Lindrick Golf ClubCorinne Dibnah Australia295
1987St Mellion Golf and Country ClubAlison Nicholas England296
1986Royal Birkdale Golf ClubLaura Davies England283
1985Moor Park Golf ClubBetsy King United States300
1984Woburn Golf and Country ClubAyako Okamoto Japan289
1983No tournament
1982Royal Birkdale Golf ClubMarta Figueras-Dotti (a) Spain296
1981Northumberland Golf ClubDebbie Massey United States295
1980Wentworth ClubDebbie Massey United States294
1979Southport and Ainsdale Golf ClubAlison Sheard South Africa301
1978Foxhills Golf & Country ClubJanet Melville (a) England310
1977Lindrick Golf ClubVivien Saunders England306
1976Fulford Golf ClubJenny Lee Smith (a) England299
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

1 thought on “Ricoh Women’s British Open Winners And History”

  1. I thought the Women’s British was older than that. Also didn’t know that the LPGA didn’t sanction it until much later. I’m glad to see that American players traveled to the UK to play in it before the LPGA was involved.
    Thanks for the great article.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: