Safeway Open Winners and History

Safeway Open Logo

The Safeway Open is the opening event of the new PGA TOUR season. It began life in 2007 as the Fry’s Electronics Open.

Currently held at the Silverado Country Club in Napa, California, the event also has been held at Grayhawk Golf Clubs’s Raptor Course in Scottsdale and the CordeValle Golf Club in San Martin, Calif.

The inaugural event was won by Canadian Mike Weir by one stroke over Mark Hensby. Troy Matteson in 2009 set a PGA Tour 36-hole record by shooting 61-61=122 in the second and third rounds. He won a three-man playoff over Rickie Fowler and Jamie Lovemark to win the tournament.

The complete list of winners follows


Year Player Country Winner’s score Margin
Safeway Open
2017-2018 Brendan Steele United States 65-67-72-69=273 2 strokes
2016-2017 Brendan Steele United States 67-71-67-65=270 1 stroke
2015-2016 Emiliano Grillo Argentina 68-71-65-69=273 Playoff Open
2014-2015 Sangmoon Bae S. Korea 66-69-65-73=273 (–15)
2013-2014 Jimmy Walker US 70-69-62-66=267 (–17) 2 Strokes
2012 Jonas Blixt Sweden 66-68-66-68=268 (–16) 1 Stroke
2011 Bryce Molder United States 71-67-65-64=267 (-17) Playoff
2010 Rocco Mediate United States 64-65-67-73=269 (-15) 1 Stroke
2009 Troy Matteson United States 72-61-61-68=262 (-18) Playoff
2008 Cameron Beckman United States 69-66-64-63=262 (-18) Playoff
Fry’s Electronics Open
2007 Mike Weir Canada 69-64-65-68=266 (-14) 1 Stroke

Leave a Reply