Sanderson Farms Championship Winners and History

Sanderson Farms Championship

Sanderson Farms Championship Winners and History

The Sanderson Farms Championship, in one form or another, has been part of the PGA Tour schedule since 1968. Throughout most of the tournament’s history, it has served as an opposite field event for major tournaments.

Sanderson Farms is the current name sponsor. The event previously has been known as the True South Classic, Viking Classic, Deposit Guaranty Golf Classic, Southern Farm Bureau Classic.

Originally played at the Hattiesburg Country Club in Hattiesburg, the event moved in 1994 to Annandale Golf Club in Madison, which hosted through 2013.

Sponsor Sanderson Farms is one of the nation’s leading food corporations and is based in Mississippi, in Laurel. The tournament’s host organization, Century Club Charities, is a non-profit, tax-exempt 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is promoting the game of golf for the benefit of charity. The Sanderson Farms Championship’s primary charity is Friends of Children’s Hospital, a 501(c)(3) benefitting the Blair E. Batson Hospital for children.

As the Magnolia State Classic and Deposit Guaranty Golf Classic, the tournament was played opposite the Masters from 1969 to 1993. From 1994 to 1998, the Deposit Guaranty Golf Classic was played opposite the Open Championship. It has also been scheduled opposite the Tour Championship and WGC American Express Championship as the Southern Farm Bureau Classic from 2000 to 2006. As the Viking Classic between 2007 and 2011, it was scheduled opposite the President’s Cup, Ryder Cup and Open Championship. For one year as the True South Classic (2012) it was held opposite the Open Championship.

The current Sanderson Farms Championship was opposite the Open Championship in 2013, and currently plays simultaneously with the WGC-HSBC Champions.

There was no tournament in 2014, due to the switch to the PGA TOUR’s new wraparound schedule.

The Sanderson Farms Championship has has been an official money event on the PGA Tour since 1994. Prior to that, it was a satellite event with the money counting but the wins counting as unofficial.

As an alternate event, the winner does not get an invitation to the Masters Tournament, but does earn a trip to the PGA Championship, a two-year PGA Tour exemption, a minimum of 24 OWGR points, and 300 FedEx Cup points.

Among the tournament winners are Craig Stadler, Payne Stewart and Fred Funk.

Sanderson Farms Championship Winners

A complete list of Sanderson Farms winners follows:

Sanderson Farms Winners

SeasonDatePlayerScoreTo parMarginOpposite event
Sanderson Farms Championship
2018October 29, 2017Ryan Armour269-195 StrokesWGC-HSBC Champions
2017October 30, 2016Cody Gribble265−204 strokesWGC-HSBC Champions
2016November 9, 2015Peter Malnati270−181 strokeWGC-HSBC Champions
2015November 9, 2014Nick Taylor272−162 strokesWGC-HSBC Champions
2013July 21, 2013Woody Austin268−20PlayoffOpen Championship
True South Classic
2012July 22, 2012Scott Stallings264−242 strokesOpen Championship
Viking Classic
2011July 17, 2011Chris Kirk266−221 strokeOpen Championship
2010October 3, 2010Bill Haas273−153 strokesRyder Cup
2009November 1, 2009Tournament cancelledNone
2008September 21, 2008Will MacKenzie269−19PlayoffRyder Cup
2007September 30, 2007Chad Campbell275−131 strokePresidents Cup
Southern Farm Bureau Classic
2006October 1, 2006D. J. Trahan275−13PlayoffWGC-American Express Championship
2005November 6, 2005Heath Slocum267−212 strokesThe Tour Championship
2004October 3, 2004Fred Funk (2)266−221 strokeWGC-American Express Championship
2003October 5, 2003John Huston268−201 strokeWGC-American Express Championship
2002November 3, 2002Luke Donald201−151 strokeThe Tour Championship
2001November 4, 2001Cameron Beckman269−191 strokeThe Tour Championship
2000November 5, 2000Steve Lowery266−22PlayoffThe Tour Championship
1999November 1, 1999Brian Henninger (2)202−143 strokesThe Tour Championship
Deposit Guaranty Golf Classic
1998July 19, 1998Fred Funk270−182 strokesOpen Championship
1997July 20, 1997Billy Ray Brown271−171 strokeOpen Championship
1996July 21, 1996Willie Wood268−201 strokeOpen Championship
1995July 23, 1995Ed Dougherty272−162 strokesOpen Championship
1994July 17, 1994Brian Henninger135−9PlayoffOpen Championship

1 thought on “Sanderson Farms Championship Winners and History”

  1. Well, the OWGR website doesn’t have any information about the tournament. The same happened with the Bridgestone Americas Golf Cup of the PGA Tour Latinoamérica.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: