Senior Players Championship Winners and History

Senior Players Championship Winners and History

One of five Major Championships recognized by the Champions Tour, The Senior Players Championship was established in 1983. The other Senior Majors are the US Senior Open, the Senior PGA Championship, the Senior British Open, and the Tradition.

“Seniors” are players who are at least fifty years old.

The winner is granted an exemption into the following season’s Players Championship on the PGA TOUR.

For sponsorship purposes, the tournament is officially known as the “Constellation Senior Players Championship.” Constellation is an energy company originally formed in Baltimore, Maryland as the Gas Light Company of Baltimore in 1816.

YearWinnerVenueScoreTo par
Kaulig Companies Championship
2023Steve StrickerFirestone-269-11
Senior Players Championship
2022Jerry KellyFirestone269-11
2021Steve StrickerFirestone273-7
2020Jerry KellyFirestone274-3
2019Retief GoosenFirestone274 -6
Senior Players Championship
2018Vijay SinghExmoor268-20
2017Scott McCarronCaves Valley270-18
2016Bernhard Langer (3)Philadelphia Cricket Club, Wissahickon Course281+1
2015Bernhard Langer (2)Belmont Country Club265−19
2014Bernhard LangerFox Chapel Golf Club265−15
2013Kenny PerryFox Chapel Golf Club261−19
2012Joe DaleyFox Chapel Golf Club266−14
Energy Senior
2011Fred CouplesWestchester Country Club273−11
2010Mark O’MearaTPC Potomac at Avenel Farm273−7
2009Jay HaasBaltimore Country Club, East Course267−13
2008D. A. WeibringBaltimore Country Club, East Course271−9
2007Loren RobertsBaltimore Country Club, East Course267−13
Ford Senior
2006Bobby WadkinsTPC of Michigan274−14
2005Peter JacobsenTPC of Michigan273−15
2004Mark JamesTPC of Michigan275−13
2003Craig StadlerTPC of Michigan271−17
2002Stewart GinnTPC of Michigan274−14
2001Allen DoyleTPC of Michigan273−15
2000Raymond Floyd (2)TPC of Michigan273−15
1999Hale IrwinTPC of Michigan267−21
1998Gil MorganTPC of Michigan267−21
1997Larry GilbertTPC of Michigan274−14
1996Raymond FloydTPC of Michigan275−13
1995J. C. SneadTPC of Michigan272−16
1994Dave Stockton (2)TPC of Michigan271−17
1993Jim ColbertTPC of Michigan278−10
Mazda Presents
The Senior
1992Dave StocktonTPC of Michigan277−11
1991Jim AlbusTPC of Michigan279−9
Mazda Senior Tournament
1990Jack NicklausDearborn Country Club261−27
1989Orville MoodyTPC of Sawgrass271−17
1988Billy CasperTPC of Sawgrass278−10
1987Gary PlayerSawgrass Country Club280−8
Players Championship
1986Chi-Chi RodríguezCanterbury Golf Club206*−10
1985Arnold Palmer (2)Canterbury Golf Club274−14
1984Arnold PalmerCanterbury Golf Club276−12
1983Miller BarberCanterbury Golf Club278−10


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: