Senior PGA Championship Winners and History

Senior PGA Championship Winners and History

Inaugurated in 1937 at Augusta National Golf Club, the Senior PGA Championship was organized by none other than Bobby Jones. In the first competition, Jock Hutchison came away with the winner’s share of the $2,000 purse (about $30,000 in today’s money).

The PGA Senior Championship moved from Georgia to Florida in 1940, hoping for better weather. Sarasota hosted two years, and Ft. Myers another before World War II interrupted play. Following the war, the Championship was moved to Dunedin, Florida. The PGA eventually would move its offices there.

Senior PGA Championship Winners and History

From 1945 to 2000, PGA National in Dunedin and Palm Beach Gardens, Florida was the event’s semi-permanent home. Since 2001, however, the event has been on the road: Ridgewood Country Club in Paramus, NJ (2001); Firestone Country Club, Akron, Ohio (2002); Aronimink Golf Club, Philadelphia (2003); Valhalla, Louisville, KY (2004); Laurel Valley GC, Ligonier, Pa (2005); Oak Tree GC, Edmond, OK (2006); The Ocean Course, Kiawah Island (2007); Oak Hill CC, Rochester, NY (2008); Canterbury GC, Beachwood, OH (2009) and Colorado GC, Parker, Colo. (2010). The tournament returned to Valhalla in 2011. I

Senior PGA Championship Winners

To qualify, players must be at least 50 years old. Other Eligibility requirements follow:

  • Any past winner of the Senior PGA Championship
  • Any past winner of a regular major championship
  • Any past member of the United States Ryder Cup team
  • The top 15 finishers in the previous year’s Senior PGA Championship
  • The top 50 on the Champions Tour money list (previous year and current year)
  • Any winner of a Champions Tour event since the last Senior PGA Championship
  • The top 35 finishers from the Callaway Golf Senior PGA Professional National Championship
  • Any winner of the previous five U.S. Senior Opens
  • The winner of the last Senior British Open
  • The top eight players from the previous year’s European Seniors Tour Order of Merit
  • The top four players from the previous year’s Japanese Seniors Tour Order of Merit
  • A one-time exemption for those who have just turned 50 and have won a PGA Tour, Japan Golf Tour, or European Tour event in the last 5 years
  • The top 30 on the career money list, both Champions Tour and combined Champions Tour and PGA Tour
  • A one-time exemption for former PGA Professional National Champions turning 50
  • Invitations for those not meeting criteria above also are made

A list of Senior PGA Championship winners follows:

2023Steve StrickerFields Ranch East270 (-18)Playoff
2022Steven AlkerHarbor Shores268 (-16)3 strokes
2021Alex CejkaSouthern Hills CC272 (-8)4 strokes
2019Ken TanigawaOak Hill CC277 (-3)1 stroke
2018Paul BroadhurstHarbor Shores265 (-19)4 strokes
2017Bernhard LangerTrump National Golf Club270 (-18)1 stroke
2016Rocco MediateThe Golf Club at Harbor Shores265 (−19)3 strokes
2015Colin Montgomerie (2)French Lick Resort280 (−8)4 strokes
2014Colin MontgomerieThe Golf Club at Harbor Shores271 (−13)4 strokes
2013Kōki IdokiBellerive Country Club273 (−11)2 strokes
2012Roger ChapmanThe Golf Club at Harbor Shores271 (−13)2 strokes
2011Tom Watson (2)Valhalla Golf Club278 (−10)Playoff
2010Tom LehmanColorado Golf Club281 (−7)Playoff
2009Michael AllenCanterbury Golf Club274 (−6)2 strokes
2008Jay Haas (2)Oak Hill Country Club287 (+7)1 stroke
2007Denis WatsonKiawah Island Golf Resort, Ocean Course279 (−9)2 strokes
2006Jay HaasOak Tree Golf Club279 (−5)Playoff
2005Mike ReidLaurel Valley Golf Club280 (−8)Playoff
2004Hale Irwin (4)Valhalla Golf Club276 (−8)1 stroke
2003John JacobsAronimink Golf Club276 (−4)2 strokes
2002Fuzzy ZoellerFirestone Country Club278 (−2)1 stroke
2001Tom WatsonThe Ridgewood Country Club274 (−10)1 stroke
2000Doug TewellPGA National Golf Club201 (−15)7 strokes
1999Allen DoylePGA National Golf Club274 (−14)2 strokes
1998Hale IrwinPGA National Golf Club275 (−13)6 strokes
1997Hale IrwinPGA National Golf Club274 (−14)12 strokes
1996Hale IrwinPGA National Golf Club280 (−8)2 strokes
1995Raymond FloydPGA National Golf Club277 (−11)5 strokes
1994Lee Trevino (2)PGA National Golf Club279 (−9)1 stroke
1993Tom WargoPGA National Golf Club275 (−13)playoff
1992Lee TrevinoPGA National Golf Club278 (−10)1 stroke
1991Jack NicklausPGA National Golf Club271 (−17)6 strokes
1990Gary Player (3)PGA National Golf Club281 (−7)2 strokes
1989Larry MowryPGA National Golf Club281 (−7)1 stroke
1988Gary PlayerPGA National Golf Club284 (−4)3 strokes
1987Chi-Chi RodríguezPGA National Golf Club282 (−6)1 stroke
1986 (Feb.)Gary PlayerPGA National Golf Club281 (−7)2 strokes
1984 (Dec.)Peter ThomsonPGA National Golf Club286 (−2)3 strokes
1984 (Jan.)Arnold Palmer (2)PGA National Golf Club282 (−6)2 strokes
1982 (Dec.)Don January (2)PGA National Golf Club288 (E)1 stroke
1981Miller BarberTurnberry Isle Resort and Club281 (−7)2 strokes
1980Arnold PalmerTurnberry Isle Resort and Club289 (+1)Playoff
1979 (Dec.)Don JanuaryTurnberry Isle Resort and Club270 (–18)
1979 (Feb.)Jack FleckWalt Disney World289 (+1)
1978Joe JimenezWalt Disney World286 (–2)
1977Julius Boros (2)Walt Disney World283 (–5)
1976Pete CooperWalt Disney World283 (–5)
1975Charlie SiffordWalt Disney World280 (–8)
1974Roberto DeVicenzoPort St. Lucie Country Club273 (–15)
1973Sam Snead (6)PGA National Golf Club (old)268 (–20)
1972Sam SneadPGA National Golf Club (old)286 (–2)
1971Julius BorosPGA National Golf Club (old)285 (–3)
1970Sam SneadPGA National Golf Club (old)290 (+2)
1969Tommy BoltPGA National Golf Club (old)278 (–10)
1968Chandler HarperPGA National Golf Club (old)279 (–9)
1967Sam SneadPGA National Golf Club (old)279 (–9)
1966Fred HaasPGA National Golf Club (old)286 (–2)
1965Sam SneadFort Lauderdale Country Club278 (–9)
1964Sam SneadPGA National Golf Club (old)279 (–9)
1963Herman BarronPort St. Lucie Country Club272 (–16)
1962Paul Runyan (2)PGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)278 (–10)
1961Paul RunyanPGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)278 (–10)
1960Dick MetzPGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)284 (–4)
1959Willie GogginPGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)284 (–4)
1958Gene Sarazen (2)PGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)288 (E)
1957Al Watrous (3)PGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)210 (–6)
1956Pete BurkePGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)215 (–1)
1955Mortie DutraPGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)213 (–3)
1954Gene SarazenPGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)214 (–2)
1953Harry SchwabPGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)142 (–2)
1952Ernie NewnhamPGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)146 (+2)
1951Al WatrousPGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)142 (–2)
1950Al WatrousPGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)142 (–2)
1949Marshall CrichtonPGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)145 (+1)
1948Charles McKennaPGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)141 (–3)
1947Jock Hutchison (2)PGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)145 (+1)
1946Eddie Williams (3)PGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)146 (+2)
1945Eddie WilliamsPGA National Golf Course (Dunedin Golf Club)148 (+4)
1943–44: No championships due to World War II
1942Eddie WilliamsFort Myers Country Club138 (–6)
1941Jack Burke, Sr.Bobby Jones Golf Complex142 (E)
Sarasota Country Club
1940 (Jan.)Otto HackbarthBobby Jones Golf Complex146 (+4)
Sarasota Country Club
1938 (Dec.)Fred McLeodAugusta National Golf Club154 (+10)
1937Jock HutchisonAugusta National Golf Club223 (+7)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading