Shell Houston Open Tournament Notes 2014

imageDates: March 31–April 6, 2014
Where: Golf Club of Houston, Humble, Texas
Par/Yards: 36-36—72/7,441 yards
Field: 156
2013 champion: D.A. Points
Purse: $6,400,000 ($1,152,000 to the winner)
FedExCup: 500 points to the winner
Format: 72-hole stroke play
Facebook: TheShellHoustonOpen
Twitter: @shellhouopen

D.A. Points at the 2013 Shell Houston Open

  • Having missed seven cuts in his previous eight starts coming into last year’s Shell Houston Open, D.A. Points wasn’t exactly riding a wave of momentum.
  • After opening with an 8-under 64, however, things changed quickly.
  • Points followed the 64 with a final-round 66 to overcome a 1-stroke deficit in the final round and claim his second career PGA TOUR victory.
  • His first win on TOUR came at the 2011 AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am. With his win in Houston, Points claimed the second-to-last “win-and-you’re-in” invitation to the Masters Tournament two weeks later (T38).
  • His victory also extended the streak of consecutive American winners on TOUR in 2013 to 14, surpassing the run of 13 straight winners from the United States in 1989.

    More on D.A. Points

  • With his win in Houston last year, Points jumped all the way from No. 200 to 19 in FedExCup standings.
  • Three weeks after the victory, he finished runner-up at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans, vaulting him to No. 7 in the standings.
  • As a result, Points would make it through all four FedExCup Playoffs events, highlighted by a T6 finish at The Barclays. He would finish the season ranked 30th in the standings.
  • With 11 starts so far this season under his belt, Points returns to Houston in search of his first top-10 finish since his T6 at The Barclays in 2013.
  • As he did last year, Points returns to The Golf Club of Houston this week on the heels of consecutive missed cuts (Valspar Championship, Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by MasterCard).
  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: