ShopRite LPGA Classic Winners and History

ShopRite LPGA Classic Winners and History
ShopRite LPGA Classic Winners and History

ShopRite LPGA Classic Winners and History

First held in 1986, the ShopRite LPGA Classic was held annually from 1986 to 2006, and then again from 2010 to the present. The location has always been Atlantic City, although the venue has changed several times. The current course is the Stockton Seaview Hotel and Golf Club.

In its first run, the tournament was played as a 54-hole event except for 1990, when it was a four-day, 72-hole event.

The tournament’s original incarnation was the Atlantic City LPGA Classic. In 1992, it acquired ShopRite as a sponsor and changed its name to the ShopRite LPGA Classic. In 2007 season, the LPGA swapped the traditional ShopRite Classic dates in early June for a new tournament, the Ginn Tribute Hosted by Annika. This didn’t sit well with the sponsors and ShopRite ended the tournament. In 2010, however, the ShopRite LPGA Classic returned as a three-day tournament.

In 2013, Acer, a Taiwanese computer hardware and electronics company, was added as a presenting sponsor.

Multiple winners of the event are Betsy King (1987, 1995, 2001), Annika Sörenstam (1998, 2002, 2005), and Juli Inkster (1986, 1988).

Julie Inkster was the first winner of the ShopRite LPGA Classic.

A complete list of ShopRite LPGA Classic winners is below


YearChampionCountryScoreTournament locationPurse ($)
ShopRite LPGA Classic
2017In-Kyung KimS. Korea66-67-69=202Stockton Seaview Hotel and Golf Club1,500,000
2016Anna Nordqvist (2)Sweden64-68-64=196Stockton Seaview Hotel and Golf Club1,500,000
2015Anna NordqvistSweden67-69-69=205Stockton Seaview Hotel and Golf Club1,500,000
2014 Stacy Lewis United States 67-63-67=197Stockton Seaview Hotel and Golf Club1,500,000
2013Karrie Webb Australia72-69-68=209Stockton Seaview Hotel and Golf Club1,500,000
2012Stacy Lewis United States65-65-71=201Stockton Seaview Hotel and Golf Club1,500,000
2011Brittany Lincicome United States72-64-66=202Stockton Seaview Hotel and Golf Club1,500,000
2010Ai Miyazato Japan66-67-64=197Dolce Seaview Resort1,500,000
2007-2009 – not scheduled
2006Seon Hwa Lee South Korea65-69-63=197Seaview Marriott Resort1,500,000
2005Annika Sörenstam (3) Sweden67-65-64=196Seaview Marriott Resort1,300,000
2004Cristie Kerr United States66-68-68=202Seaview Marriott Resort1,300,000
2003Angela Stanford United States65-67-65=197Seaview Marriott Resort1,300,000
2002Annika Sörenstam (2) Sweden68-67-66=201Seaview Marriott Resort1,200,000
2001Betsy King (3) United States65-69-67=201Seaview Marriott Resort1,200,000
2000Janice Moodie Scotland66-68-69=203Seaview Marriott Resort1,100,000
1999Se Ri Pak South Korea63-69-66=198Seaview Marriott Resort1,000,000
1998Annika Sörenstam Sweden66-65-65=196Seaview Marriott Resort1,000,000
1997Michelle McGann United States72-65-64=201Greate Bay Resort & Country Club900,000
1996Dottie Pepper United States67-66-69=202Greate Bay Resort & Country Club750,000
1995Betsy King (2) United States66-71-67=204Greate Bay Resort & Country Club650,000
1994Donna Andrews United States67-66-74=207Greate Bay Resort & Country Club500,000
1993Shelley Hamlin United States67-67-70=204Greate Bay Resort & Country Club450,000
1992Anne Marie Palli France69-69-69=207Greate Bay Resort & Country Club400,000
Atlantic City Classic
1991Jane Geddes United States71-68-69=208Greate Bay Resort & Country Club300,000
1990Christa Johnson United States69-67-69-70=275Sands Country Club300,000
1989Nancy Lopez United States67-70-69=206Sands Country Club225,000
1988Juli Inkster (2) United States72-69-65=206Sands Country Club225,000
Atlantic City LPGA Classic
1987Betsy King United States70-71-66=207Marriott Seaview Country Club & Resort225,000
1986Juli Inkster United States67-71-71=209Marriott Seaview Country Club & Resort225,000


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: