Shriners Children’s Open Winners and History

Shriners Hospitals For Children Open Winners and History

The Shriners Hospitals For Children Open began life in 1983 as the Las Vegas Pro Celebrity Classic, when it was noted for the largest purse on Tour and the assistance of Vegas showgirls in presenting the trophy. Tiger Woods won his first PGA TOUR event there in 1996. The Tournament also was the first to offer a purse of more than $1 million.

Through the years, the Shriners Open has operated under nine different names, including the Las Vegas Invitational, The Invensys Classic, The Michelin Championship, the Frys.Com Open and the Justin Timberlake Shriners Hospital For Children Open.

Timberlake was the tournament’s host from 2008 to 2012. He participated in the pro-am and also held a benefit concert during tournament week.

Shriners Hospitals For Children Open Winners and History

The Shriners Open is played at the TPC Summerlin in Las Vegas.

Throughout most of the tournament’s history, the event was played over five rounds at a variety of courses, including the TPC at the Canyons (now TPC Las Vegas), Bear’s Best Golf Club, Southern Highlands Golf Club, Desert Inn Country Club (now the Wynn Golf & Country Club), Las Vegas Country Club, Las Vegas Hilton Country Club (now Las Vegas National Golf Club), Sunrise Golf Club, Spanish Trail Golf & Country Club, Showboat Country Club (now Wildhorse Golf Club), Dunes Country Club and Stallion Mountain Golf Club.

Shriners Hospitals for Children is a network of 22 hospitals offering pediatric care. It specializes in orthopedic, burn and spinal cord rehabilitation. I can’t imagine a better charity.

The Shriners are more formally known as Shriners International. The fraternity was established in 1870 and is based on the Masonic principles of brotherly love, relief and truth. The Shriners have approximately 350,000 members worldwide and are other than their hospital work are perhaps best known for the red fezzes worn by members.

Among the Shriners Hospitals For Children Open Winners are Tiger Woods, Greg Norman, Curtis Strange, Davis Love III and Jim Furyk. A complete list of Shriners Hospitals For Children Winners follows:

SeasonPlayerScoreTo parMargin
2022Tom Kim260-53 strokes
2021Sungjae Im260-94 strokes
Shriners Hospitals
for Children Open
2020Martin Laird261-23Playoff
2019-2020Kevin Na261-23Playoff
2018 – 2019Bryson DeChambeau263-211 Stroke
2017-2018Patrick Cantalay275-9Playoff
2016 – 2017Rod Pampling264-161 stroke
2015-2016Smylie Kaufman268-161 stroke
2015Ben Martin264-202 strokes
2014Webb Simpson260-246 strokes
Justin Timberlake
Shriners Hospitals
for Children Open
2012Ryan Moore260-241 stroke
2011Kevin Na261-232 strokes
2010Jonathan Byrd263-21Playoff
2009Martin Laird265-19Playoff
2008Marc Turnesa263-251 stroke Open
Shriners Hospitals
for Children
2007George McNeill264-244 strokes Open
2006Troy Matteson265-231 stroke
at Las Vegas
2005Wes Short, Jr.266-21Playoff
2004Andre Stolz266-211 stroke
Las Vegas
2003Stuart Appleby328-31Playoff
Invensys Classic
at Las Vegas
2002Phil Tataurangi330-291 stroke
2001Bob Estes329-301 stroke
2000Billy Andrade332-281 stroke
Las Vegas
1999Jim Furyk (3)331-291 stroke
1998Jim Furyk (2)335-251 stroke
1997Bill Glasson340-201 stroke
1996Tiger Woods332-27Playoff
1995Jim Furyk331-281 stroke
1994Bruce Lietzke332-281 stroke
1993Davis Love III331-298 strokes
1992John Cook334-262 strokes
1991Andrew Magee329-31Playoff
1990Bob Tway334-26Playoff
1989Scott Hoch336-24Playoff
Las Vegas
1988Gary Koch274*-141 stroke
1987Paul Azinger271*-171 stroke
1986Greg Norman333-277 strokes
1985Curtis Strange338-171 stroke
1984Denis Watson341-151 stroke
Las Vegas
Pro Celebrity
1983Fuzzy Zoeller340184 strokes

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

2 thoughts on “Shriners Children’s Open Winners and History”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: