Sony Open Winners and History

Sony Open in Hawaii

The Sony Open In Hawaii   has been played—in its various incarnations—at the Waialae Country Club in Honolulu, Hawaii since 1965. First known as the Hawaii Open, it later acquired first United Airlines and then Sony as title sponsors. It has been the Sony Open since 1999. Prior to 1965, four Tour-recognized events were held, in 1928-1929 and 1947-1948.

The current purse is $5,600,000. Waialae Country Club is a par 70 clocking in at 7068 yards.

The Sony Open gained some notoriety in the relatively recent past for the inclusion of young Michelle Wie as a sponsor’s exemption in 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2007. Waialae was her home course, but she did not manage to make the cut in any of those tries.

In 2007, 16 year old amateur Tadd Fujikawa became the second youngest player to make the 36-hole cut in an official PGA Tour event. (The youngest was Bob Panasik—age 15—in the 1957 Canadian Open). Two years later, Fujikawa set a course record with a 62.

The 2017 edition featured a six hole playoff between James Hahn and eventual winner Patton Kizzire.

Another first: Isao Aoki was Japan’s first winner on the PGA Tour in 1983.

Multiple Sony Open Winners
Ernie Els: 2003, 2004
Hubert Green: 1978, 1979
Corey Pavin: 1986, 1987
Lanny Wadkins: 1988, 1991

Tournament record: 260 (John Huston, 1998; Brad Faxon, 2001)

The complete list of Sony Open winners is listed below:


Sony Open Winners
YearPlayerCountryScoreTo par1st Prize ($)
Sony Open in Hawaii
2019Matt KucharUnited States268-121,044,000
2018Patton KizzireUnited States263-171,044,000
2017Justin ThomasUnited States253-271,044,000
2016Fabian GomezArgentina260-201,044,000
2015Jimmy WalkerUnited States257-231,008,000
2014Jimmy WalkerUnited States263-171,008,000
2013Russell HenleyUnited States256-241,008,000
2012Johnson WagnerUnited States267-13990,000
2011Mark WilsonUnited States264-16990,000
2010Ryan PalmerUnited States265-15990,000
2009Zach JohnsonUnited States265-15972,000
2008K.J. ChoiSouth Korea266-14954,000
2007Paul GoydosUnited States266-14936,000
2006David TomsUnited States261-19918,000
2005Vijay SinghFiji269-11864,000
2004Ernie ElsSouth Africa262-18864,000
2003Ernie ElsSouth Africa264-16810,000
2002Jerry KellyUnited States266-14720,000
2001Brad FaxonUnited States260-20720,000
2000Paul AzingerUnited States261-19522,000
1999Jeff SlumanUnited States271-9468,000
United Airlines Hawaiian Open
1998John HustonUnited States260-28324,000
1997Paul StankowskiUnited States271-17216,000
1996Jim FurykUnited States277-11216,000
1995John MorseUnited States269-19216,000
1994Brett OgleAustralia269-19216,000
1993Howard TwittyUnited States269-19216,000
1992John CookUnited States265-23216,000
United Hawaiian Open
1991Lanny WadkinsUnited States270-18198,000
Hawaiian Open
1990David IshiiUnited States279-9180,000
1989Gene SauersUnited States197-19135,000
1988Lanny WadkinsUnited States271-17108,000
1987Corey PavinUnited States270-18108,000
1986Corey PavinUnited States272-1690,000
1985Mark O’MearaUnited States267-2190,000
1984Jack RennerUnited States271-1790,000
1983Isao AokiJapan268-2058,500
1982Wayne LeviUnited States277-1158,500
1981Hale IrwinUnited States265-2358,500
1980Andy BeanUnited States266-2258,500
1979Hubert GreenUnited States267-2154,000
1978Hubert GreenUnited States274-1450,000
1977Bruce LietzkeUnited States273-1548,000
1976Ben CrenshawUnited States270-1846,000
1975Gary GrohUnited States274-1444,000
1974Jack NicklausUnited States271-1744,000
1973John SchleeUnited States273-1540,000
1972Grier JonesUnited States274-1440,000
1971Tom ShawUnited States273-1540,000
1969Bruce CramptonAustralia274-1425,000
1968Lee TrevinoUnited States272-1625,000
1967Dudley WysongUnited States284-420,000
1966Ted MakalenaUnited States271-178,500
1965Gay BrewerUnited States281-79,000
Previous incarnations recognized by PGA Tour.
1948Cary MiddlecoffUnited States274-102,000
1947E.J. “Dutch” HarrisonUnited States275-132,000
1929Craig WoodUnited States289+11,600
1928Bill MehlhornUnited States291  

For current odds to win the Sony Open, check out this list of online bookies.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: