Tom Izzo, Derek Jeter Top 2014 Nominee Class For Michigan Sports Hall Of Fame

Ballots for the 2014 Class of the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame are open for public voting now through October 20 at the Hall’s website.

This year’s nominees include Derek Jeter, Tom Izzo, Chris Chelios, Sergei Federov, Barry Larkin, Andre Rison, and Mitch Albom.

Full press release follows:

(FARMINGTON, MI – Oct. 10)  Just days after his final major league at bat, newly retired New York Yankees shortstop and Kalamazoo native Derek Jeter headlines the nominees for the 2015 Michigan Sports Hall of Fame Induction Class.

Twenty years since his first professional season, Jeter, a 14-time All-Star, is now eligible for induction, and is one of the biggest names on the nominee list, along with Michigan State University basketball Head Coach Tom Izzo.

Other prominent names among this year’s nominees include Detroit Red Wings Chris Chelios, Sergei Fedorov and Igor Larionov, Michigan State football star Andre Rison, the late Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Bob Welch, NBA guards B.J. Armstrong and Jalen Rose, tennis pro Aaron Krickstein, University of Michigan shortstop Barry Larkin and Detroit Free Press columnist, WJR host and best-selling author Mitch Albom (in the Media/Contributor category).

This year’s nominees were selected by an esteemed Super Committee comprised of Michigan Sports Hall of Fame members, sports executives and journalists who average over 35 years of experience. Voting for the final inductees now begins, with ballots cast by a larger collection of Hall members, sports executives, administrators and media. The public is also eligible to vote in the Professional and College/Amateur categories now through Monday, October 20, on the Hall’s website at

The 2015 Class, the Hall’s 59th, will be inducted in a formal radio-broadcast ceremony next February, with the exact date and venue to be announced, along with the inductees’ names, on Oct. 28.

With the potential enshrinements of such luminaries as Derek Jeter and Tom Izzo, the attention could be a timely assist in the Hall’s increased efforts to find a permanent home, at which fans can personally experience the modern interactive facility that has been long envisioned.  Conversations have accelerated in recent months, with Detroit Mayor Michael E. Duggan even weighing in, offering his support to help find a location in the City of Detroit.

Currently celebrating the 60th anniversary of its establishment in 1954, the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame is a non-profit, 501-c-3 organization that is committed to impacting and inspiring people by celebrating and honoring the traditions, legacies and history of sports throughout the state of Michigan.


Professional College/Amateur Coaches Media/Contributor
Chris Chelios Derrick Alexander Charlie Coles Mitch Albom
Sergei Fedorov B.J. Armstrong Pete Hovland Harry Atkins
Derek Jeter Brian Diemer Tom Izzo Jack Berry
Pepper Johnson Peter Green Greg Kampe Ted Hillary
Igor Larionov Aaron Krickstein Kathy McGee Mickey Redmond
Mike Modano Barry Larkin
Andre Rison Shelley Looney
Jalen Rose Sue Novara
Aleta Sill Connie Paraskevin
Bob Welch Sheila Taormina
Mike Yellen


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: