Toshiba Classic Winners and History

toshiba-classicPlayed at the Newport Beach Country Club in California, the Toshiba Classic was founded in 1995 as the Toshiba Senior Classic.

The Toshiba Classic holds the distinction of having the longest tenure at the same club on the Champions Tour. The tournament also shares another distinction. Toshiba, the event’s current sponsor, joins AT&T as the longest running current sponsor of a Champions Tour event. Each has sponsored their respective tournament 20 years in succession

The longest playoff in the history of the Champions Tour occurred at the 1997 Toshiba Senior Classic when Bob Murphy defeated Jay Sigel on the ninth hole. The record was broken the following year at the Royal Caribbean Classic. There have been four playoffs in the 19-year history of the event, and all of them have gone at least five extra holes.

Five players won their first Champions Tour titles at the Toshiba Classic—Gary McCord (1999), Jose Maria Canizares (2001), Rodger Davis (2003), Mark Johnson (2005), Brad Bryant (2006).

A complete list of Toshiba Classic Winners follows:


YearDatesChampionCountryWinning scorePurse ($)
Toshiba Classic
2018March 9 – 11Vijay SinghFiji202 (-11)1, 800,000
2017No Tournamentnananana0
2016Oct. 7 – 9Jay HaasUnited States197 (-16)1,800,000
2015Oct. 30 – Nov 1Duffy WaldorfUnited States193 (-20)1,800,000
2014March 14 – 16Fred Couples (2)United States198 (-15)1,750,000
2013Mar 15–17David FrostSouth Africa194 (-19)1,750,000
2012Mar 16–18Loren RobertsUnited States205 (-8)1,750,000
2011Mar 11–13Nick PriceZimbabwe196 (-17)1,700,000
2010Mar 5–7Fred CouplesUnited States195 (-18)1,700,000
2009Mar 6–8Eduardo RomeroArgentina202 (-11)1,700,000
2008Mar 7–9Bernhard LangerGermany199 (-14)1,700,000
2007Mar 9–11Jay HaasUnited States194 (-19)1,650,000
2006Mar 18–20Brad BryantUnited States204 (-9)1,650,000
Toshiba Senior Classic
2005Mar 18–20Mark JohnsonUnited States200 (-13)1,650,000
2004Mar 19–21Tom PurtzerUnited States198 (-15)1,600,000
2003Mar 21–23Rodger DavisAustralia197 (-16)1,550,000
2002Mar 9–10Hale IrwinUnited States197 (-16)1,500,000
2001Mar 2–4José Maria CañizaresSpain202 (-11)1,400,000
2000Mar 3–4Allen DoyleUnited States136 (-6)1,300,000
1999Mar 12–14Gary McCordUnited States204 (-9)1,200,000
1998Feb 14–16Hale IrwinUnited States200 (-13)1,100,000
1997Mar 14–16Bob MurphyUnited States207 (-6)1,000,000
1996Mar 15–17Jim ColbertUnited States201 (-12)1,000,000
1995Mar 17–19George ArcherUnited States199 (-11)800,000

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: