Tradition-Rich Owosso Country Club Hosting GAM Women’s Championship

Owosso Country Club
Owosso Country Club

The 2015 GAM Women’s Championship will be contested July 21-22 at Owosso Country Club. The course has a storied history, having played host to several professional and amateur events, including the 1955 and 1965 Michigan PGA Championships. Arnold Palmer, Walter Hagen and Jackie Burke are among the golf legends to have played there.

The member-owned private club is located on a bluff along the Shiawassee River and was founded in 1923. The 6,300-yard par 71 course was originally designed by legendary architect Tom Bendelow. Among Bendelow’s other works are Olympia Fields and Medinah.

A field of the top women golfers in the state will play 36-holes of stroke play over two days to determine a champion.

Jennifer Elsholz of Grand Rapids is defending her championship. The recent University of Toledo graduate emerged as champion last year at Spring Lake Country Club by one shot over a trio of golfers, including Hannah Pietila of Brighton and Sarah Hoffman of Saline, who are also back in the field for 2015.

Emmie Pietila, Hannah’s sister and her teammate at the University of Tennessee, was the 2012 GAM Champion and is one of four past champs who are in this year’s field. The others are Elsholz, 2012 winner Gabrielle Yurik, a Michigan State golfer from Oakland, and Stacy Slobodnik-Stoll of Haslett, the Michigan State University women’s golf coach who won in 1998.

As with all GAM events, the public is welcome to attend free of charge.

For more information on Owosso Country Club visit

For more information on the tournament visit and click on Championships.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: