Tucson Conquistadores Classic Winners and History

Tucson_Conquistadores_ClassicThe Tucson Conquistadores Classic teed up for its inaugural tournament March 16 – 22, 2015. The event is held at the Omni Tucson National Resort (Catalina Course). The course was originally designed by Robert Bruce Harris in 1961, and has since been reworked by Red Lawrence, Robert Von Hagge/Bruce Devlin and Tom Lehman.

The event is a 54 hole stroke play with no cut.

The Tucson Conquistadores are a group of Tucson businessmen founded in 1961 by the late Roy Drachman to provide “extracurricular support of deserving athletes as well as other community sporting events. Beginning with an annual Sports Award Banquet, the group has in subsequent years adopted the Tucson Open golf tournament and the WGC-Accenture Match Play Championshp at Dove Mountain. The group currently has an active membership of 55 and a total membership of 197. In addition to its professional golf activities, the runs the Tucson Conquistadores Foundation. Major beneficiaries of the Conquistadores’ fund-raising effort for the tournament are The First Tee of Tucson and Southern Arizona Youth Athletic Programs.

A list of Tucson Conquistadores Classic Winners follows:

YearChampionCountryWinning score
2017Tom LehmanUnited States199 (-20)
2016Woody AustinUnited States200 (-16)
2015Marco Dawson United States203 (-13)
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: