US Open Historical Results

Here’s a list of all of the past US Open Champions, the club where the Open was held, and the winning score. The US Open’s past winners are listed from the earliest US Open to the most recent

Year Champion Club Score
1895Horace Rawlins Newport G.C. 173 (36 Holes)
1896James Foulis Shinnecock Hills G.C. 152 (36)
1897Joe Lloyd Chicago G.C. 162 (36)
1898Fred Herd Myopia Hunt Club 328
1899Willie Smith Baltimore C.C. 315
1900Harry Vardon Chicago G.C. 313
1901Willie Anderson Myopia Hunt Club 331
1902Laurence Auchterlonie Garden City G.C. 307
1903Willie Anderson Baltusrol G.C. 307
1904Willie Anderson Glen View Club 303
1905Willie Anderson Myopia Hunt Club 314
1906Alex Smith Onwentsia Club 295
1907Alex Ross Philadelphia Cricket C. 302
1908Fred McLeod Myopia Hunt Club 322
1909George Sargent Englewood G.C. 290
1910Alex Smith Philadelphia Cricket C. 298
1911John J. McDermott Chicago G.C. 307
1912John J. McDermott C.C. of Buffalo 294
1913a-Francis Ouimet The Country Club 304
1914Walter Hagen Midlothian C.C. 290
1915a-Jerome D. Travers Baltusrol G.C. 297
1916a-Charles Evans Jr. Minikahda Club 286
1917No Championships – World War I
1918No Championships – World War I
1919Walter Hagen Brae Burn C.C. 301
1920Edward Ray Inverness Club 295
1921James M. Barnes Columbia C.C. 289
1922Gene Sarazen Skokie C.C. 288
1923a-Robert T. Jones Jr. Inwood C.C. 296
1924Cyril Walker Oakland Hills C.C. 297
1925William Macfarlane Worcester C.C. 291
1926a-Robert T. Jones Jr. Scioto C.C. 293
1927Tommy Armour Oakmont C.C. 301
1928Johnny Farrell Olympia Fields C.C. 294
1929a-Robert T. Jones Jr. Winged Foot G.C. 294
1930a-Robert T. Jones Jr. Interlachen C.C. 287
1931Billy Burke Inverness Club 292
1932Gene Sarazen Fresh Meadow C.C. 286
1933a-John Goodman North Shore G.C. 287
1934Olin Dutra Merion Cricket C. 293
1935Sam Parks Jr. Oakmont C.C. 299
1936Tony Manero Baltusrol G.C. 282
1937Ralph Guldahl Oakland Hills C.C. 281
1938Ralph Guldahl Cherry Hills Club 284
1939Byron Nelson Philadelphia C.C. 284
1940Lawson Little Canterbury G.C. 287
1941Craig Wood Colonial C.C. 284
1942No Championships – World War II
1943No Championships – World War II
1944No Championships – World War II
1945No Championships – World War II
1946Lloyd Mangrum Canterbury G.C. 284
1947Lew Worsham St. Louis C.C. 282
1948Ben Hogan Riviera C.C. 276
1949Cary Middlecoff Medinah C.C. 286
1950Ben Hogan Merion G.C. 287
1951Ben Hogan Oakland Hills C.C. 287
1952Julius Boros Northwood Club 281
1953Ben Hogan Oakmont C.C. 283
1954Ed Furgol Baltusrol G.C. 284
1955Jack Fleck Olympic Club 287
1956Cary Middlecoff Oak Hill C.C. 281
1957Dick Mayer Inverness Club 282
1958Tommy Bolt Southern Hills C.C. 283
1959Bill Casper Jr. Winged Foot G.C. 282
1960Arnold Palmer Cherry Hills C.C. 280
1961Gene Littler Oakland Hills C.C. 281
1962Jack Nicklaus Oakmont C.C. 283
1963Julius Boros The Country Club 293
1964Ken Venturi Congressional C.C. 278
1965Gary Player Bellerive C.C. 282
1966Bill Casper Jr. Olympic Club 278
1967Jack Nicklaus Baltusrol G.C. 275
1968Lee Trevino Oak Hill C.C. 275
1969Orville Moody Champions G.C. 281
1970Tony Jacklin Hazeltine National G.C. 281
1971Lee Trevino Merion G.C. 280
1972Jack Nicklaus Pebble Beach G.L. 290
1973John Miller Oakmont C.C. 279
1974Hale Irwin Winged Foot G.C. 287
1975Lou Graham Medinah C.C. 287
1976Jerry Pate Atlanta Athletic C. 277
1977Hubert Green Southern Hills C.C. 278
1978Andy North Cherry Hills C.C. 285
1979Hale Irwin Inverness Club 284
1980Jack Nicklaus Baltusrol G.C. 272
1981David Graham Merion G.C. 273
1982Tom Watson Pebble Beach G.L. 282
1983Larry Nelson Oakmont C.C. 280
1984Fuzzy Zoeller Winged Foot G.C. 276
1985Andy North Oakland Hills C.C. 279
1986Raymond Floyd Shinnecock Hills G.C. 279
1987Scott Simpson The Olympic Club 277
1988Curtis Strange The Country Club 278
1989Curtis Strange Oak Hill C.C. 278
1990Hale Irwin Medinah C.C. 280
1991Payne Stewart Hazeltine National G.C. 282
1992Tom Kite Pebble Beach G.L. 285
1993Lee Janzen Baltusrol G.C. 272
1994Ernie Els Oakmont C.C. 279
1995Corey Pavin Shinnecock Hills G.C. 280
1996Steve Jones Oakland Hills C.C. 278
1997Ernie Els Congressional C.C. 276
1998Lee Janzen The Olympic Club 280
1999Payne Stewart No. 2 Course at Pinehurst R. & C.C. 279
2000Tiger Woods Pebble Beach G.L. 272
2001Retief Goosen Southern Hills C.C. 276
2002Tiger Woods Bethpage State Park (Black Course) 277
2003Jim Furyk Olympia Fields C.C. 272
2004Retief Goosen Shinnecock Hills G.C. 276
2005Michael Campbell Pinehurst No. 2 280
2006Geoff OgilvyWinged Foot285
2007Angel CabrerraOakmont285
2008Tiger WoodsTorrey Pines283 (playoff)
2009Lucas GloverBethpage Black276
2010Graeme McDowellPebble Beach284
2011Rory McIlroyCongressional CC268
Liked it? Take a second to support emtwo on Patreon!

4 thoughts on “US Open Historical Results”

  1. Does anyone have a list of the players in the 1913 Open? Ouimet’s win. Since Hagen won the next year, he probably played. Did Charlie McKenna play? Both were pros in Rochester, NY

  2. I recently published The Caddie Who Knew Ben Hogan and am researching Walter Hagen for another novel. Any suggestions of stories that you know tha might work in the novel? I am focus on 1946

  3. I don’t renenber,  but my question, did
    Phil Mickelson ever received a green jacket.I thought he won one recently, thanks, frp


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: