US Senior Open Winners and History

US Senior Open Winners and History

As far as Majors go, the US Senior Open is a mere babe in arms. First played in 1980, it’s administered by the US Golf Association (USGA). Both the Champions Tour and European Seniors Tour recognize it as a major.

As with the Champions Tour, the US Senior Open’s foundation coincided with Arnold Palmer “aging out” of the regular PGA Tour. The initial age restriction was 55, and at Winged Foot, a who’s who of older golfers playe, including Lew Worsham, Julius Boros, Ed Furgol, Jack Fleck and “Terrible” Tommy Bolt. That first event was won by Argentina’s Roberto De Vicenzo; Palmer won the second.

US Senior Open Winners and History

The following year, the minimum age was lowered to 50, which is the professional standard for the senior tours.

Currently, Allen Doyle is the oldest winner, having won the 2006 Championship just two weeks before his 58th birthday.

Interestingly, players can use a cart if they have a medical exemption.

A complete list of winners follows:

2023Bernhard Langer277 (-7)2 strokes
2022Padraig Harrington274 (-10)1 stroke
2021Jim Furyk3 strokes
2019Steve Stricker261 (-19)6 strokes
2018David Toms277 (-3)1 stroke
2017Kenny Perry264 (-16)2 strokes
2016Gene Sauers277 (-3)1 stroke
2015Jeff Maggert270 (−10)2 strokes
2014Colin Montgomerie279 (−5)playoff
2013Kenny Perry267 (−13)5 strokes
2012Roger Chapman270 (−10)2 strokes
2011Olin Browne269 (−15)3 strokes
2010Bernhard Langer272 (−8)3 strokes
2009Fred Funk268 (−20)6 strokes
2008Eduardo Romero274 (−6)4 strokes
2007Brad Bryant282 (−6)3 strokes
2006Allen Doyle (2)272 (−8)2 strokes
2005Allen Doyle274 (−10)1 stroke
2004Peter Jacobsen272 (−12)1 stroke
2003Bruce Lietzke207 (−6)2 strokes
2002Don Pooley274 (−10)playoff
2001Bruce Fleisher280 (E)1 stroke
2000Hale Irwin (2)267 (−17)3 strokes
1999Dave Eichelberger281 (−7)3 strokes
1998Hale Irwin285 (+1)1 stroke
1997Graham Marsh280 (E)1 stroke
1996Dave Stockton277 (−11)2 strokes
1995Tom Weiskopf275 (−13)4 strokes
1994Simon Hobday274 (−10)1 stroke
1993Jack Nicklaus (2)278 (−6)1 stroke
1992Larry Laoretti275 (−9)4 strokes
1991Jack Nicklaus282 (+2)playoff
1990Lee Trevino275 (−13)2 strokes
1989Orville Moody279 (−9)2 strokes
1988Gary Player (2)288 (E)playoff
1987Gary Player270 (−14)6 strokes
1986Dale Douglass279 (−9)1 stroke
1985Miller Barber (3)285 (−3)4 strokes
1984Miller Barber (2)286 (−2)2 strokes
1983Billy Casper288 (+4)playoff
1982Miller Barber282 (−2)4 strokes
1981Arnold Palmer289 (+9)playoff
1980Roberto De Vicenzo285 (+1)4 strokes

1 thought on “US Senior Open Winners and History”

  1. I’ve always enjoyed going to the US Senior Open. Whenever there is one near me, I try to get out to it. It’s quite an experience to see the greats out there like Palmer, Player, Nicklaus and others.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.