Volvo China Open Past Winners and History

imageNow in its 20th year, the Volvo China Open is part of the OneAsia Tour, and has been co-sanctioned by the European Tour since 2004.

It has not, however, been co-sanctioned by the Asian Tour since 2009. This is the result of a dispute between between OneAsia and the Asian Tour, in which the China Open, Pine Valley Beijing Open, Korea Open and China Classic were removed from the Asian Tour schedule. Asian Tour players participating in those events are penalized, risking membership on the Asian Tour.

A list of past winners follows:

Year Course Winner Country Score
2014 Genzon Golf Club
2013 Binhai Lake Golf Club Brett Rumford  Australia 272 (−16)
2012 Binhai Lake Golf Club Branden Grace  South Africa 267 (−21)
2011 Luxehills International CC Nicolas Colsaerts  Belgium 264 (−24)
2010 Suzhou Jinji Lake GC Y.E. Yang  South Korea 273 (−15)
2009 Beijing CBD International GC Scott Strange  Australia 280 (−8)
2008 Beijing CBD International GC Damien McGrane  Ireland 278 (−10)
2007 Shanghai Silport GC Markus Brier  Austria 274 (−10)
2006 Beijing Honghua International GC Jeev Milkha Singh  India 278 (−10)
2005 Shenzhen GC Paul Casey  England 275 (−13)
2004 Shanghai Silport GC Stephen Dodd  Wales 276 (−12)
2003 Shanghai Silport GC Zhang Lian-wei  China 277 (−11)
2002 Shanghai Silport GC David Gleeson  Australia 272 (−16)
2001 Shanghai Silport GC Charlie Wi  South Korea 272 (−16)
2000 Shanghai Silport GC Simon Dyson  England 275 (−13)
1999 Shanghai Silport GC Kyi Hla Han  Burma 273 (−15)
1998 Shanghai SunIsland Int’l GC Ed Fryatt  England 269 (−19)
1997 Beijing International GC Cheng Jun  China 280 (−8)
1996 Beijing International GC Prayad Marksaeng  Thailand 269 (−19)
1995 Beijing International GC Raúl Fretes  Paraguay 277 (−11)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: