Watch A Major Golf Championship This Weekend

Watch A Major Golf Championship This Weekend

In the mood to watch a major golf championship this weekend? Not interested in the goings on Down Under (which is not a Major, no matter what the twitter bots say). Team golf — even two-man teams — doesn’t excite you?

You’re in luck. The LPGA’s first major of the season — The Chevron Championship — is this weekend.

The tournament formerly known as the Dinah Shore is played this year at The Club at Carlton Woods. This is the first time the tournament has not at The Old Course at Mission Hills Country Club.

For more on the history of the “Dinah Shore,” follow the link.

Here are the TV and streaming times for the LPGA’s first Major of the year.


  • Wednesday, April 19: 12:00pm – 2:00pm – Golf Today (GC) and 4:00pm – 5:00pm – Preview Show (GC)
  • Thursday, April 20: 11:00am – 3:00pm – Round 1 (GC) and 6:00pm – 8:00pm – Round 1 (GC)
  • Friday, April 21: 11:00am – 3:00pm – Round 2 (GC) and 6:00pm – 8:00pm – Round 2 (GC)
  • Saturday, April 22: 2:00pm – 3:00pm – Round 3 (Peacock), 3:00pm – 4:00pm – Round 3 (GC) and 4:00pm – 6:00pm – Round 3 (NBC)
  • Sunday, April 23: 2:00pm – 3:00pm – Final Round (Peacock), 3:00pm – 4:00pm – Final Round (GC) and 4:00pm – 6:00pm – Final Round (NBC)

STREAMING ON:,, NBC Sports App, and Peacock


  • This is the 52nd official playing of The Chevron Championship
    • The Championship was designated a major in 1983
    • This is the second year of a six-year partnership with Chevron
  • The Championship is the first women’s major of the season, and is one of two events in 2023 in the state of Texas, along with The Ascendant LPGA benefiting Volunteers of America
  • This is the first time The Chevron Championship will be held at The Club at Carlton Woods in The Woodlands, Texas after the previous 51 editions were contested on the Dinah Shore Tournament Course at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, Calif.
    • The Jack Nicklaus Signature Course was named the “Best New Private Course in Texas” and the “#3 Best New Private Course in the U.S.” by Golf Digest
    • In 2014, Jack Nicklaus named this course at Carlton Woods one of the top-18 course designs of his illustrious career
  • The Chevron Challenge on the 17th hole was designed by Chevron to highlight the importance of diversity and inclusion from early education to careers
    • Chevron will donate $10,000 through the Championship for every birdie and $1,000,000 for the first hole-in-one
      • 29 players have recorded aces in the major’s history, with two made in last year’s Championship
  • The 132-player field features:
    • Nine past champions
    • The top 20 in the Rolex Women’s World Golf Rankings
    • 27 major champions with 38 titles between them
    • Seven amateurs
      • Amari Avery, Saki Baba, Jess Baker, Zoe Antoninette Campos, Eila Galitsky, Ting-Hsuan Huang, Valentina Rossi
    • 32 Chevron Championship debuts
    • All six 2023 LPGA Tour winners
    • 13 LPGA Tour rookies including Grace Kim, the Tour’s most recent winner at the LOTTE Championship
  • There are 30 different winners in the event’s history as a major, with Annika Sorenstam, Amy Alcott and Betsy King earning the most wins at the Championship with three each
    • Eight players have won the Championship multiple times: Sandra Post (1978, ’79), Amy Alcott (1983, ’88, ’91), Juli Inkster (1984, ’89), Dottie Pepper (1992, ’99), Annika Sorenstam (2001, ’02, ’05), Karrie Webb (2000, ’06) and Brittany Lincicome (2009, ’15)
    • Only one player has successfully defended the title since the Championship was made a major in 1983: Annika Sorenstam
    • There have been four wire-to-wire winners (including ties) in the Championship’s history (Pat Bradley, 1986; Betsy King, 1987; Pat Hurst, 1998; Pernilla Lindberg, 2018) and four wire-to-wire winners with no ties (Juli Inkster, 1989; Amy Alcott, 1991; Karrie Webb, 2000; Patty Tavatanakit, 2021)
    • Seven players became Rolex First-Time Winners at the Championship, including three in the past five years (Pernilla Lindberg, 2018; Patty Tavatanakit, 2021; Jennifer Kupcho, 2022)
    • Only two players have won the Championship as Tour rookies – Juli Inkster (1984) and Patty Tavatanakit (2021)
    • There have been 20 players to win The Chevron Championship as their first major, including the last five champions of the major
  • Lorena Ochoa (R1, 2006) and Lydia Ko (R4, 2021) hold the Championship record for the lowest round (62, -10) from previous editions at Mission Hills
  • Dottie Pepper (1999) holds the 72-hole record (269, -19)
  • Karrie Webb holds the record for the most top-five finishes (8) and the most top-10 finishes (11) in the major’s history
  • Jennifer Kupcho won The Chevron Championship in 2022, and is defending a title for the first time on Tour
    • Holding a six-shot lead heading into the final day, Kupcho recorded a 2-over 74 in the final round to become the fourth Rolex First-Time Winner of 2022
    • Kupcho was the first American to leap into Poppie’s Pond since Brittany Lincicome in 2015
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: