WGC Dell Match Play Championship Winners and History

WGC-Dell Match Play
In 2016, the WGC Match Play had a new sponsor in Dell, while it continues the “pool play” format that keeps all the players around until Friday. The 2016 tournament also had a new venue: The Austin Country Club.

The relatively new format groups the 64 player field into sixteen four player groups. On Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, each group will play round-robin matches. The player with the best record in each group continues to the “Sweet Sixteen” on Saturday for single elimination. The “Elite Eight” matches will be held Saturday afternoon. Sunday morning will feature the Final Four, and the Championship and consolation matches will be held Sunday Afternoon.

It’s a neat fix that guarantees three days with every player in the field. It also eliminates the freak win that sends a top seeded player home after the first day. That occurs far more often than fans — and television producers — would have liked.

The WGC Match Play Championship is the successor event of the Anderson Consulting World Championship of Golf, a 32 player, unofficial event played from 1995 to 1998. In 1999, the event became part of the World Golf Championship series, hosted by La Costa Resort and Spa in Carlsbad, California. It was held at that resort from 1999 to 2006, with a one year side trip to the Metropolitcan Golf Club in Victoria, Australia. That turned out to be unpopular, and it has not again left the United States. The WGC Match Play Championship was been held at the Gallery Golf Club in Marana, Arizona in 2007 and 2008. In 2009, it moved to the Ritz Carlton Golf Club at Dove Mountain, Arizona. It was at TPC Harding Park in 2015.

The prize of $9 million is official on the PGA Tour, the European Tour and the Japan Golf Tour. In addition to the $1.4 million winner’s share, the last man standing also takes the Walter Hagen Cup. The name is appropriate, as Hagen is widely considered to be the finest match player ever.

Prior to the unofficial Anderson event, the PGA Tour held the Seiko Tuscon Match Play Championship from 1984 to 1986. Jim Thorpe twice won that event. The PGA Championship was match play from its inception in 1916 to 1958. The US and British Amateur Championships also are match play events, although the US Amateur experimented with medal play from 1965 to 1972. Resistance to match play surely comes from the television networks, who cannot be thrilled at the possibility of having the marquee stars ousted on day one, with four more days to come. The solution — not yet used — would be to use a double elimination format.

Participants in the Anderson event were chosen from the top eight players available from four different regions, the United States, Europe, Japan, and the “Rest of the World”. The positions were determined by the Sony Rankings. Each region played three rounds of match play to determine the regional winner to send to the finals. The regional tournaments were played at various times (February to August) throughout the year at different courses in the U.S., Europe, and Japan.

  • Most times won tournament – Tiger Woods (3 wins)
  • Largest Championship Match Victory (36 holes) – 8 & 7, Tiger Woods over Stewart Cink (2008)
  • Other lopsided match (18 holes) – 9 & 8, Tiger Woods over Stephen Ames (2006, 1st round)
  • Longest championship match – 38 holes, Jeff Maggert over Andrew Magee (1999)
  • Longest match (non-championship) – 26 holes, Scott Verplank over Lee Westwood (2006, 1st round), Mike Weir over Loren Roberts (2003, 1st round)

A list of past winners of the WGC Dell Match Play Championship, the WGC Cadillac Match Play Championship, The WGC Accenture Match Play Championship and the Anderson Consulting Match Play Championship follows:

WGC Dell  Match Play Championship Winners
Year Player Country Runner-up Score 1st Prize ($) Purse ($)
WGC-Dell Match Play Championship
2016 Jason Day Australia Louis Oosthuizen 5&4 1,530,000 9,000,000
WGC-Cadillac Match Play Championship
2015 Rory McIlroy Northern Ireland Gary Woodland 4&2 1,530,000 9,000,000
2014 Jason Day Australia Victor Dubuisson 23 Holes 1,570,000 9,250,000
2013 Matt Kuchar United States Hunter Mahan 2&1 1,500,000 8,750,000
2012 Hunter Mahan United States Rory McIlroy 2&1 1,400,000 8,500,000
2011 Luke Donald England Martin Kaymer 3&2 1,350,000 8,000,000
WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship
2010 Ian Poulter England Paul Casey 4 & 2 1,400,000 8,500,000
2009 Geoff Ogilvy Australia Paul Casey 4 & 3 1,400,000 8,500,000
2008 Tiger Woods United States Stewart Cink 8 & 7 1,350,000 8,000,000
2007 Henrik Stenson Sweden Geoff Ogilvy 2 & 1 1,350,000 8,000,000
2006 Geoff Ogilvy Australia Davis Love III 3 & 2 1,300,000 7,500,000
2005 David Toms United States Chris DiMarco 6 & 5 1,300,000 7,500,000
2004 Tiger Woods United States Davis Love III 3 & 2 1,200,000 7,000,000
2003 Tiger Woods United States David Toms 2 & 1 1,050,000 6,000,000
2002 Kevin Sutherland United States Scott McCarron 1 up 1,000,000 5,500,000
2001 Steve Stricker United States Pierre Fulke 2 & 1 1,000,000 5,000,000
WGC-Andersen Consulting Match Play Championship
2000 Darren Clarke Northern Ireland Tiger Woods 4 & 3 1,000,000 5,000,000
1999 Jeff Maggert United States Andrew Magee 38 holes 1,000,000 5,000,000

Anderson Consulting Match Play Championship
Year Winner Country Runner-Up Score Third Place Fourth Place
1995 Barry Lane England David Frost 2 up Mark McCumber Masahiro Kuramoto
1996/7 Greg Norman Australia Scott Hoch 1 up Hisayuki Sasaki Sam Torrance
1997/8 Colin Montgomerie Scotland Davis Love III 2 up Ernie Els Hajime Meshiai

1 thought on “WGC Dell Match Play Championship Winners and History

Leave a Reply