WGC Bridgestone Winners and History

WGC Bridgestone Winners
wgc bridgestone winners

The WGC Bridgestone Invitational began life in 1962 as a four-man invitational tournament held at the Firestone Country Club. The field expanded, and by 1976, it was an official PGA Tour event known as the World Series of Golf. Thanks to the strength of field, it was considered just a step below the Majors, with a victory granting a 10-year exemption on Tour. The field at that time consisted of tournament winners from the various international tours.

NEC sponsored the event from 1984 to 2006, when it was taken over by Bridgestone.

Since it became known as the WGC Invitational (either as WGC-NEC or WGC Bridgestone) in 1999, Tiger Woods has owned the event, winning seven times.

The current field is composed of 75 players, who fit the following criteria:

Playing members of the last named United States and International Presidents Cup teams.
Playing members of the last named United States and European Ryder Cup teams.
Players ranked among the top 50 on the Official World Golf Rankings (one week and two weeks prior to event).
Tournament winners of worldwide events since the prior year’s tournament with an Official World Golf Ranking Strength of Field Rating of 115 points or more.
The winner of one selected tournament from each of the following tours: PGA Tour of Australasia, Sunshine Tour, Asian Tour and Japan Golf Tour.

As of 2013, Tiger Woods has won the WGC Bridgestone eight times in the fifteen times it has been staged.

A list of past WGC Bridgestone winners follows:

WGC-Bridgestone Invitational
2018Justin ThomasUS265 (-15)
2017Hideki MatsuyamaJapan264 (-16)
2016Dustin JohnsonUnited States274 (-6)
2015Shane LowryNorthern Ireland269 (-11)
2014Rory McIlroyNorthern Ireland265 (-15)
2013Tiger WoodsUnited States265 (-15)
2012Keegan BradleyUnited States267 (-13)
2011Adam ScottAustralia263 (-17)
2010Hunter MahanUnited States268 (-12)
2009Tiger Woods (7)United States268 (-12)
2008Vijay SinghFiji270 (-10)
2007Tiger Woods (6)United States272 (-8)
2006Tiger Woods (5)United States270 (-10) PO
WGC-NEC Invitational
2005Tiger Woods (4)United States274 (-6)
2004Stewart CinkUnited States269 (-11)
2003Darren ClarkeNorthern Ireland268 (-12)
2002*Craig ParryAustralia268 (-16)
2001Tiger Woods (3)United States268 (-12) PO
2000Tiger Woods (2)United States259 (-21)
1999Tiger WoodsUnited States270 (-10)
NEC World Series of Golf
1998David DuvalUnited States
1997Greg Norman (2)Australia
1996Phil MickelsonUnited States
1995Greg NormanAustralia
1994José María Olazábal (2)Spain
1993Fulton AllemSouth Africa
1992Craig Stadler (2)United States
1991Tom PurtzerUnited States
1990José María OlazábalSpain
1989David FrostSouth Africa
1988Mike ReidUnited States
1987Curtis StrangeUnited States
1986Dan PohlUnited States
1985Roger MaltbieUnited States
1984Denis WatsonZimbabwe
World Series of Golf
1983Nick PriceZimbabwe
1982Craig StadlerUnited States
1981Bill RogersUnited States
1980Tom WatsonUnited States
1979Lon HinkleUnited States
1978Gil MorganUnited States
1977Lanny WadkinsUnited States
1976Jack NicklausUnited States

3 thoughts on “WGC Bridgestone Winners and History”

  1. My heart wants Phil.  My brain says no. 

    I think Phil and Tiger are about equal chances for this week.  But I think “field” has a better chance.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.