WGC Cadillac Winners and History

imageThe WGC Cadillac Championship at Doral is one of four World Golf Championship events for the mens’ professional golf tours. Prize money from the event is official on both the PGA Tour and the European PGA Tour.

The event has been played at seven different venues in its short history:

  • 1999 – 2000 at the Valderrama Golf Club in San Roque, Spain
  • 2001 (scheduled for, but not played due to the Sept. 11 attacks) at the Bellerive Country Club in St. Louis, Missouri
  • 2002 at the Mount Juliet Golf Club in Thomastown, Ireland
  • 2003 at the Capital City Club in Atlanta, Georgia
  • 2004 at the Mount Juliet Golf Club in Thomastown, Ireland
  • 2005 at Harding Park in San Francisco
  • 2006 at the Grove in Hertfordshire, England
  • and since 2007 at the Doral Golf Resort and Spa in FloridaThe event also has had three different sponsors. The initial sponsor was American Expresss (1999 – 2006), followed by CA (2007 – 2010) and now Cadillac.The Cadillac Championship is played over 72 holes in the stroke play format. The starting field consists of:
  • Top 50 players from the Official World Golf Rankings (one week and two weeks prior to event)
  • Top players from member tours’ money lists or orders of merit (from last complete season)
  • Top 30 PGA Tour FedEx Cup list (also top 10 from one week prior to event)
  • Top 20 European Tour (also top 10 from two weeks prior to event)
  • Top 2 each from Asian Tour, Japan Golf Tour, PGA Tour of Australasia, and Sunshine TourDue to overlaps on the above qualifications, the field consisst of approximately 70 eligible players, half that (144 to 156 players) for most regular PGA Tour events. Because of the limited field, there is no 36-hole cut.Tiger Woods (who else?) holds the record for most wins at 6. He also had the lowest aggregate score at 261 (2006) and the lowest to par at -25 (2002).For a list of past winners, see below:
WGC Doral Past Winners
YearPlayerCountryScoreTo par1st prize ($)Purse ($)
2016Adam ScottAustralia276-121,620,0009,500,000
2015Dustin JohnsonUnited States279-91,572,5009,250,000
2014Patrick ReedUnited States284-41,530,000900,000
2013Tiger WoodsUnited States269-191,500,0008,750,000
2012Justin RoseEngland272-161,400,0008,500,000
2011Nick WatneyUnited States272-161,400,0008,500,000
2010Ernie ElsSouth Africa270-181,400,0008,500,000
2009Phil MickelsonUnited States269-191,400,0008,500,000
2008Geoff OgilvyAustralia271-171,350,0008,000,000
2007Tiger WoodsUnited States278-101,350,0008,000,000
2006Tiger WoodsUnited States261-231,300,0007,500,000
2005Tiger WoodsUnited States270-101,300,0007,500,000
2004Ernie ElsSouth Africa270-181,200,0007,000,000
2003Tiger WoodsUnited States274-61,050,0006,000,000
2002Tiger WoodsUnited States263-251,000,0005,500,000
2001Cancelled due to September 11 attacks
2000Mike WeirCanada277-71,000,0005,000,000
1999Tiger WoodsUnited States278-61,000,0005,000,000

Prior to the WGC Championship, a long-running PGA Tour event was held at Doral. The past winners for that tournament are listed below:

Doral Championship Past Winners
YearWinnerCountryWinning Score1st Prize ($)
Ford Championship at Doral
2006Tiger Woods (2)United States268 (-20)990,000
2005Tiger Woods (1)United States264 (-24)990,000
2004Craig ParryAustralia271 (-17)PO900,000
2003Scott HochUnited States271 (-17)PO900,000
Genuity Championship
2002Ernie ElsSouth Africa271 (-17)846,000
2001Joe DurantUnited States270 (-18)810,000
Doral – Ryder Open
2000Jim FurykUnited States265 (-23)540,000
1999Steve Elkington (2)Australia275 (-13)540,000
1998Michael BradleyUnited States278 (-10)360,000
1997Steve Elkington (1)Australia275 (-13)324,000
1996Greg Norman (3)Australia269 (-19)324,000
1995Nick FaldoEngland273 (-15)270,000
1994John HustonUnited States274 (-14)252,000
1993Greg Norman (2)Australia265 (-23)252,000
1992Raymond Floyd (3)United States271 (-17)252,000
1991Rocco MediateUnited States276 (-12)PO252,000
1990Greg Norman (1)Australia273 (-15)PO252,000
1989Bill GlassonUnited States275 (-13)234,000
1988Ben CrenshawUnited States274 (-14)180,000
1987Lanny WadkinsUnited States277 (-11)180,000
Doral-Eastern Open
1986Andy Bean (3)United States276 (-12)PO90,000
1985Mark McCumber (2)United States284 (-4)72,000
1984Tom KiteUnited States272 (-16)72,000
1983Gary KochUnited States271 (-17)54,000
1982Andy Bean (2)United States278 (-10)54,000
1981Raymond Floyd (2)United States273 (-15)45,000
1980Raymond Floyd (1)United States279 (-9)PO45,000
1979Mark McCumber (1)United States279 (-9)45,000
1978Tom WeiskopfUnited States272 (-16)40,000
1977Andy Bean (1)United States277 (-11)40,000
1976Hubert GreenUnited States270 (-18)40,000
1975Jack Nicklaus (2)United States276 (-12)30,000
1974Buddy AllinUnited States272 (-16)30,000
1973Lee TrevinoUnited States276 (-12)30,000
1972Jack Nicklaus (1)United States276 (-12)30,000
Doral-Eastern Open Invitational
1971J. C. SneadUnited States275 (-13)30,000
1970Mike HillUnited States279 (-9)30,000
Doral Open Invitational
1969Tom ShawUnited States276 (-12)30,000
1968Gardner DickinsonUnited States275 (-13)20,000
1967Doug Sanders (2)United States275 (-9)20,000
1966Phil RodgersUnited States278 (-10)20,000
1965Doug Sanders (1)United States274 (-14)11,000
1964Billy Casper (2)United States277 (-11)7,500
Doral C.C. Open Invitational
1963Dan SikesUnited States283 (-5)9,000
1962Billy Casper (1)United States283 (-5)9,000

Michigan’s own Mike Hill was the winner in 1970!

1 thought on “WGC Cadillac Winners and History”

  1. A really strong field for the Doral event.

    It looks like another one of these courses that Tiger Woods has a liking for having won 6 times. Is the man to beat this week.

    I’ll be interested to see how Rory McIlroy backs up after last week.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: