Who Gets PGA Tour Player Of The Year Honors?

Here’s an interesting question: Who’s in the lead for PGA Tour Player of the Year Honors?

Tiger has won five times, but no Major.

Each of the Majors has had a different winner: Angel Cabrera, Lucas Glover, Stewart Cink, and Y.E. Yang.

Yang’s the only one among them with another victory this year.

Zach Johnson, Steve Stricker, Geoff Ogilvy and Kenny Perry have two wins each. Perry had that famous runner-up status at the Masters.

The PGA Tour “planned” this one pretty well. If the winner of the FedEx Cup is any of the above, they likely would also walk off with Player of the Year honors.

To win the Cup, the contenders are going to have to win at least one, and maybe two of the four FedEx Cup events. That’s exactly what the doctor ordered: something to make th Cup more meaningful.

The PGA Tour PR machine should be playing this up for all its worth. But I haven’t seen a single word.

Who do you think is the front-runner for the the Player of the Year title?

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

2 thoughts on “Who Gets PGA Tour Player Of The Year Honors?”

  1. 5 wins = Player of Year.  That is such an incredible number of wins, majors or not.
    Year off + 5 wins = Come back Player too!


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: