Women’s British Open Winners and History

Women’s British Open Winners and History

The Women Open — or The Women’s British Open — is relatively new in the world of golf majors. Established in 1976 by the Ladies Golf Union, the event was intended to be the equivalent of the Open Championship but it was initially difficult to gain acceptance.

The Ladies Golf Union is the governing body for women’s and girls’ amateur golf in Great Britain and Ireland.

Of the courses considered most prestigious in the Open Championship rota, Royal Birkdale was the only one to step forward. As a result, the first few years were played on less well known courses, such as Fulwood, Lindrick and Fox Hills.

Lack of support forced the tournament to skip the 1983 edition.

From 1976 to 1993, the tournament was sanctioned only by the Ladies European Tour, with the exception of the 1984 edition, which was co-sanctioned by the LPGA.

The LPA returned to sanction the tournament from 1994 to the present. This has helped to increase both interest in the Women’s Open and the quality of the field.

Four years later after the LPA signed on, the event was held at Royal Lytham and St. Annes. It has since been held at Carnoustie, Royal Liverpool and St. Andrews—all courses which have hosted the Open Championship. The organizers of the Women’s British Open, however, have opted not to follow the lead of the Open Championship and limit the tournament to just the classic links courses.

In 2001, the LPGA granted the British Women’s Open Major status, replacing the du Maurier Classic.

In 2022, the Women’s Open is sponsored by AIG, with a total purse of $6.8 million. That’s up $1 million from 2021.

A list of past Women’s British Open Winners follows:

YearChampionScoreTo ParMarginVenue
2023Lilia Vu274-146 shotsWalton Heath
2022Ashleigh Buhai274-10PlayoffMuirfield
2021Anna Nordqvist276-121 strokeCarnoustie
2020Royal Troon277-72 strokesSophia Popov
2019Hinako Shibuno270-181 strokeWoburn
2018Georgia Hall271-172 strokesRoyal Lytham & St. Annes
2017In-Kyung Kim270-182 strokesKingsbarns
2016Arya Jutanugarn272-163 strokesEngland Woburn Golf and Country Club
2015Inbee Park276-123 strokesScotland Trump Turnberry – Ailsa Course
2014Mo Martin287-11 strokeEngland Royal Birkdale Golf Club
2013Stacy Lewis280-82 strokesScotland Old Course at St Andrews
2012Jiyai Shin279-99 strokesEngland Royal Liverpool Golf Club
2011Yani Tseng272-164 strokesScotland Carnoustie Golf Links
2010Yani Tseng277-111 strokeEngland Royal Birkdale Golf Club
2009Catriona Matthew285-33 strokesEngland Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club
2008Jiyai Shin270-183 strokesEngland Sunningdale Golf Club
2007Lorena Ochoa287-54 strokesScotland Old Course at St Andrews
2006Sherri Steinhauer281-73 strokesEngland Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club
2005Jeong Jang272-164 strokesEngland Royal Birkdale Golf Club
2004Karen Stupples269-195 strokesEngland Sunningdale Golf Club
2003Annika Sörenstam278-101 strokeEngland Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club
2002Karrie Webb273-152 strokesScotland Turnberry – Ailsa Course
2001Se Ri Pak277-112 strokesEngland Sunningdale Golf Club
2000Sophie Gustafson282-62 strokesEngland Royal Birkdale Golf Club
1999Sherri Steinhauer283-51 strokeEngland Woburn Golf and Country Club
1998Sherri Steinhauer29241 strokeEngland Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club
1997Karrie Webb269-198 strokesEngland Sunningdale Golf Club
1996Emilee Klein277-117 strokesEngland Woburn Golf and Country Club
1995Karrie Webb278-106 strokesEngland Woburn Golf and Country Club
1994Liselotte Neumann280-83 strokesEngland Woburn Golf and Country Club
1993Karen Lunn2758 strokesWoburn Golf and Country Club
1992Patty Sheehan207*3 strokesWoburn Golf and Country Club
1991Penny Grice-Whittaker2843 strokesWoburn Golf and Country Club
1990Helen Alfredsson288playoffWoburn Golf and Country Club
1989Jane Geddes2742 strokesFerndown Golf Club
1988Corinne Dibnah295playoffLindrick Golf Club
1987Alison Nicholas2961 strokeSt Mellion Golf and Country Club
1986Laura Davies2834 strokesRoyal Birkdale Golf Club
1985Betsy King3002 strokesMoor Park Golf Club
1984Ayako Okamoto28911 strokesWoburn Golf and Country Club
1983No tournament
1982Marta Figueras-Dotti (a)2961 strokeRoyal Birkdale Golf Club
1981Debbie Massey2954 strokesNorthumberland Golf Club
1980Debbie Massey2941 strokeWentworth Club
1979Alison Sheard3013 strokesSouthport and Ainsdale Golf Club
1978Janet Melville (a)3102 strokesFoxhills Golf & Country Club
1977Vivien Saunders306tied, but won due to better final roundLindrick Golf Club
1976Jenny Lee Smith (a)2992 strokesFulford Golf Club

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: