Wyndham Championship Winners and History – Greater Greensboro Open

Wyndham Championship

Played annually in Greensboro, North Carolina, The Wyndham Championship originally was called the Greater Greensboro Open. The first Greater Greensboro Open was held in 1938, and was won by the legendary Sam Snead. Snead would go on to win the event eight times, with his 1965 win there making him the oldest player to win a PGA Tour event. His eight victories in a single tournament also is a PGA Tour record.

For most of its history, the Greater Greensboro Open was held in April or May. In its first 4 years, it was played at both Sedgefield Country Club and Starmount Forest Country Club, moving to the Starmount Forest CC in 1942. From 1942 to 1952, it alternated between Starmount Forest CC and Sedgefield CC. It was played at Starmount in 1951 and 1952. Sedgefield hosted in 1953, then it was back to Starmount through 1956.  Sedgefield CC hosted in 1957 before Starmount Forest CC hosted another 3 straight 1958-60.

From 1961 to 1976, it was played at Sedgefield CC. The origin of this is actually a pretty funny story. Following his win at Starmount in 1960, Snead noted that the winter had taken its toll on the course, and joked that the owner Edward Benjamin should fix it up before the next tournament. Benjamin banned Snead from his course for life. In a popularity contest, though, Snead won. The tournament has not returned to Starmount.

From 1977 to 2007, Forest Oaks Country Club hosted the event. In 2008, the tournament returned to Sedgefield CC. In any case, it has been played in Greensboro, NC for its entire history.

Ben Hogan won his first tournament there in 1940. In 1942, Sam Byrd, a former New York Yankee became the only MLB baseball player to win a PGA Tour event. Charlie Sifford became the first African American to play a PGA Tournament in the South when he was invited to the 1961 Greater Greensboro Open. Seve Ballesteros won his first US tournament there in 1978.

Davis Love holds the course-tournament record with a 62 recorded in 1992.

In 2007, the event was renamed the Wyndham Championship when Wyndham Hotels & Resorts took over from DaimlerChrysler as main sponsor. It moved from an autumn date to mid-August and is the last PGA Tour event before the Playoffs for the FedEx Cup. The 2011 purse was $5,200,000, with $936,000 going to the winner.

In 2021, Kevin Kisner won after surviving a 6 way playoff. It was only the third six way playoff in PGA TOUR history. The others were at the 2001 Genesis Invitational and the 1994 Byron Nelson Championship.

A complete list of Wyndham Championship winners follows:

YearPlayerScoreTo parMargin
Wyndham Championship
2023Lucas Glover260-202 strokes
2022Kim Joo-hyung260-205 strokes
2021Kevin Kisner265-15playoff
2020Jim Herman259-211 stroke
2019JT Poston258-221 stroke
2018Brandt Snedeker (2)259−213 strokes
2017Henrik Stenson258−221 stroke
2016Kim Si-woo259−215 strokes
2015Davis Love III (3)263−171 stroke
2014Camilo Villegas263−171 stroke
2013Patrick Reed266−14Playoff
2012Sergio García262−182 strokes
2011Webb Simpson262−183 strokes
2010Arjun Atwal260−201 stroke
2009Ryan Moore264−16Playoff
2008Carl Pettersson259−212 strokes
2007Brandt Snedeker266−222 strokes
Chrysler Classic of Greensboro
2006Davis Love III (2)272−162 strokes
2005K. J. Choi266−222 strokes
2004Brent Geiberger270−182 strokes
2003Shigeki Maruyama266−225 strokes
Greater Greensboro Chrysler Classic
2002Rocco Mediate (2)272−163 strokes
2001Scott Hoch272−161 stroke
2000Hal Sutton274−143 strokes
1999Jesper Parnevik265−232 strokes
1998Trevor Dodds276−12Playoff
1997Frank Nobilo274−14Playoff
1996Mark O’Meara274−142 strokes
KMart Greater Greensboro Open
1995Jim Gallagher, Jr.274−141 stroke
1994Mike Springer275−133 strokes
1993Rocco Mediate281−7Playoff
1992Davis Love III272−166 strokes
1991Mark Brooks275−13Playoff
1990Steve Elkington282−62 strokes
1989Ken Green277−112 strokes
1988Sandy Lyle (2)271−17Playoff
Greater Greensboro Open
1987Scott Simpson282−62 strokes
1986Sandy Lyle275−132 strokes
1985Joey Sindelar285−31 stroke
1984Andy Bean280−82 strokes
1983Lanny Wadkins275−135 strokes
1982Danny Edwards (2)285−31 stroke
1981Larry Nelson281−7Playoff
1980Craig Stadler275−136 strokes
1979Raymond Floyd282−61 stroke
1978Seve Ballesteros282−61 stroke
1977Danny Edwards276−124 strokes
1976Al Geiberger268−162 strokes
1975Tom Weiskopf275−93 strokes
1974Bob Charles270−141 stroke
1973Chi-Chi Rodríguez267−171 stroke
1972George Archer (2)272−12Playoff
1971Buddy Allin275−9Playoff
1970Gary Player271−132 strokes
1969Gene Littler274−10Playoff
1968Billy Casper (2)267−174 strokes
1967George Archer267−172 strokes
1966Doug Sanders (2)276−8Playoff
1965Sam Snead (8)273−115 strokes
1964Julius Boros277−7Playoff
1963Doug Sanders270−144 strokes
1962Billy Casper275−91 stroke
1961Mike Souchak276−87 strokes
1960Sam Snead (7)270−142 strokes
1959Dow Finsterwald278−62 strokes
1958Bob Goalby275−92 strokes
1957Stan Leonard276−43 strokes
1956Sam Snead (6)279−5Playoff
1955Sam Snead (5)273−71 stroke
1954Doug Ford283−1Playoff
1953Earl Stewart275−5Playoff
1952Dave Douglas277−71 stroke
1951Art Doering279−55 strokes
1950Sam Snead (4)269−1110 strokes
1949Sam Snead (3)276−8Playoff
1948Lloyd Mangrum278−21 stroke
1947Vic Ghezzi28622 strokes
1946Sam Snead (2)270−106 strokes
1945Byron Nelson (2)271−138 strokes
1943–44: No tournament due to World War II
1942Sammy Byrd279−52 strokes
1941Byron Nelson276−62 strokes
1940Ben Hogan270−129 strokes
1939Ralph Guldahl280−23 strokes
1938Sam Snead271−115 strokes

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

1 thought on “Wyndham Championship Winners and History – Greater Greensboro Open”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading