Alfred Dunhill Links Championship Winners and History

Alfred Dunhill Links Championship Winners and History

The Alfred Dunhill Links Championship is the European Tour’s version of the venerable AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am (formerly the Crosby). Each team consists of one amateur and one professional. A 54-hole cut is made of the top 60 professionals, and leading 20 pro-am teams.

The three course rotation consists of The Old Course at St Andrews, Carnoustie and Kingsbairn. St. Andrews hosts the final round.

Originally called the Dunhill Links Championship, the event was introduced in 2001 as a replacement for the Alfred Dunhill Cup. That three-man team tournament became irrelevant when the long established World Cup of Golf was given enhanced status as part of the World Golf Championships in 2000, becoming the WGC-World Cup.

Alfred Dunhill in 1893
Alfred Dunhill in 1893

Alfred Dunhill (30 September 1872 – 2 January 1959) was an English entrepreneur who made his fortune in tobacco and luxury goods. He was the founder of both the Alfred Dunhill luxury goods company (which sponsors the tournament), and Dunhill tobacco products (a separate company). Dunhill began by manufacturing accessories for cars, eventually developing a pipe designed for drivers. This led him to open a tobacco shop in Mayfair. After expanding to New York and Paris, Dunhill went into the production and sale of so-called luxury goods.

Today, Alfred Dunhill, Ltd. the sponsor of the Dunhill Championship, is specializes in ready-to-wear and custom menswear, leather goods, and accessories.

The Dunhill company also sponsors the Dunhill Links Championship, which is played in October.

A list of the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship winners (professionals) follows:

YearWinnerScoreTo parMargin of Victory
2022Ryan Fox273-151 stroke
2021Danny Willett270-182 strokes
2019Victor Perez266-221 stroke
2018Lucas Bjerregaard273-151 Stroke
2017Tyrell Hatton264-243 Strokes
2016Tyrrell Hatton265−234 strokes
2015Thorbjørn Olesen270−182 strokes
2014Oliver Wilson271−171 stroke
2013David Howell265−23Playoff
2012Branden Grace266−222 strokes
2011Michael Hoey266−222 strokes
2010Martin Kaymer271−173 strokes
2009Simon Dyson268−203 strokes
2008Robert Karlsson278−10Playoff
2007Nick Dougherty270−182 strokes
2006Pádraig Harrington (2)271−175 strokes
2005Colin Montgomerie279−91 stroke
2004Stephen Gallacher269−19Playoff
2003Lee Westwood267−211 stroke
2002Pádraig Harrington269−19Playoff
2001Paul Lawrie270−181 stroke

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading