Irish Open Winners and History


Ireland’s national golf championship was first contested in 1927 at Portmarnock golf club. George Duncan of Scotland, who had previously won the 1920 Open Championship, took home the prize.

Since 1927, the Irish Open has been an on-again, off-again sort of affair. It was paused—as were most national championships—for World War II, then not played from 1951-52, and 1954 to 1962. It was replaced by Carroll’s International from 1963 to 1974. Those winners are included in the chart below for continuity.

Finally, the Irish Open returned in 1975, as Carroll’s Irish Open with European Tour sanctioning.

The tournament record aggregate score is held by Colin Montgomerie (2001) and Ross Fisher (2010) at 266. Christy O’Connor, Junior (1975) and Bernhard Langer (1984) set the pace at -21 to par.

A complete list of Irish Open winners follows:

Irish Open Winners

YearWinnerCountryVenueScoreTo parMargin
Dubai Duty Free Irish Open
2018Russell KnoxScotlandBallyliffin274-14playoff
2017John RahmSpainPortstewart264-246 Strokes
2016Rory McIlroy Northern IrelandThe K Club276-123 strokes
2015Søren Kjeldsen DenmarkRoyal County Down282-2Playoff
The Irish Open
2014Mikko Ilonen FinlandFota Island271-131 stroke
2013Paul Casey EnglandCarton House274-143 strokes
2012Jamie Donaldson WalesRoyal Portrush270-184 strokes
Irish Open presented by Discover Ireland
2011Simon Dyson EnglandKillarney269-151 stroke
The 3 Irish Open
2010Ross Fisher EnglandKillarney266-182 strokes
2009Shane Lowry (a) IrelandCounty Louth271-17Playoff
Irish Open
2008Richard Finch EnglandAdare278-102 strokes
2007Pádraig Harrington IrelandAdare283-5Playoff
Nissan Irish Open
2006Thomas Bjørn DenmarkCarton House283-51 stroke
2005Stephen Dodd WalesCarton House279-9Playoff
2004Brett Rumford AustraliaCounty Louth274-144 strokes
2003Michael Campbell New ZealandPortmarnock277-11Playoff
Murphy's Irish Open
2002Søren Hansen DenmarkFota Island270-14Playoff
2001Colin Montgomerie (3) ScotlandFota Island266-185 strokes
2000Patrik Sjöland SwedenBallybunion270-142 strokes
1999Sergio García SpainDruids Glen268-163 strokes
1998David Carter EnglandDruids Glen278-6Playoff
1997Colin Montgomerie (2) ScotlandDruids Glen269-157 strokes
1996Colin Montgomerie ScotlandDruids Glen279-51 stroke
1995Sam Torrance (2) ScotlandMount Juliet277-11Playoff
1994Bernhard Langer (3) GermanyMount Juliet275-131 stroke
Carroll's Irish Open
1993Nick Faldo (3) EnglandMount Juliet276-12Playoff
1992Nick Faldo (2) EnglandKillarney274-14Playoff
1991Nick Faldo EnglandKillarney283-53 strokes
1990José María Olazábal SpainPortmarnock282-63 strokes
1989Ian Woosnam (2) WalesPortmarnock278-10Playoff
1988Ian Woosnam WalesPortmarnock278-107 strokes
1987Bernhard Langer (2) GermanyPortmarnock269-1910 strokes
1986Seve Ballesteros (3) SpainPortmarnock285-32 strokes
1985Seve Ballesteros (2) SpainRoyal Dublin278-10Playoff
1984Bernhard Langer West GermanyRoyal Dublin267-214 strokes
1983Seve Ballesteros SpainRoyal Dublin271-172 strokes
1982John O'Leary IrelandPortmarnock287-11 stroke
1981Sam Torrance ScotlandPortmarnock276-125 strokes
1980Mark James (2) EnglandPortmarnock284-41 stroke
1979Mark James EnglandPortmarnock282-61 stroke
1978Ken Brown ScotlandPortmarnock281-71 stroke
1977Hubert Green United StatesPortmarnock283-51 stroke
1976Ben Crenshaw United StatesPortmarnock284-42 strokes
1975Christy O'Connor Jnr IrelandWoodbrook275-211 stroke
1954 - 1974 No Tournament
1953Eric Brown ScotlandBelvoir Park272?1 stroke
1951-52: No tournament
1950Ossie Pickworth AustraliaRoyal Dublin287?2 strokes
1949Harry Bradshaw (2) IrelandBelvoir Park286?1 stroke
1948Dai Rees WalesPortmarnock295?2 strokes
1947Harry Bradshaw IrelandRoyal Portrush290?2 strokes
1946Fred Daly Northern IrelandPortmarnock288?4 strokes
194 - 19–45: No tournament due to World War II
1939Arthur Lees EnglandRoyal County Down287?2 strokes
1938Bobby Locke South AfricaPortmarnock292?1 stroke
1937Bert Gadd EnglandRoyal Portrush284?1 stroke
1936Reg Whitcombe EnglandRoyal Dublin281?2 strokes
1935Ernest Whitcombe (2) EnglandRoyal County Down292?Playoff
1934Syd Easterbrook EnglandPortmarnock284?7 strokes
1933Bob Kenyon (2) EnglandMalone286?2 strokes
1932Alf Padgham EnglandCork283?1 stroke
1931Bob Kenyon EnglandRoyal Dublin291?2 strokes
1930Charles Whitcombe EnglandRoyal Portrush289?8 strokes
1929Abe Mitchell EnglandPortmarnock309?Playoff
1928Ernest Whitcombe EnglandRoyal County Down288?4 strokes
1927George Duncan ScotlandPortmarnock312?1 stroke
Winners of the Irish Open from 1927 to Present

2 thoughts on “Irish Open Winners and History”

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: