Cologuard Classic Winners and History

The Cologuard Classic is the current incarnation of the Tucson Conquistadores Classic, which was first held in 2015.

The event is held at the Omni Tucson National Resort (Catalina Course). The course was originally designed by Robert Bruce Harris in 1961, and has since been reworked by Red Lawrence, Robert Von Hagge/Bruce Devlin and Tom Lehman.

The event is a 54 hole stroke play with no cut.

Cologuard, the current sponsor, is the producer of a non-invasive screening test for colorectal cancer.

The Tucson Conquistadores are a group of Tucson businessmen founded in 1961 by the late Roy Drachman to provide “extracurricular support of deserving athletes as well as other community sporting events.

Beginning with an annual Sports Award Banquet, the group has in subsequent years adopted the Tucson Open golf tournament and the WGC-Accenture Match Play Championshp at Dove Mountain.

The group currently has an active membership of 55 and a total membership of 197. In addition to its professional golf activities, the runs the Tucson Conquistadores Foundation.

Major beneficiaries of the Conquistadores’ fund-raising effort for the tournament are The First Tee of Tucson and Southern Arizona Youth Athletic Programs.

In 2022, winner Miguel Angel Jimenez recorded two aces in his three rounds enroute to a four shot lead.

A list of Cologuard Classic Winners follows:

Year Champion Winning score To par Margin
Cologuard Classic
2022Miguel Angel Jimenez66-67-65-184 strokes
2021Kevin Sutherland68-67-69=204-152 strokes
2020 Bernhard Langer 68-68-65=201 −18 2 strokes
2019 Mark O’Meara 66-70-66=202 −17 4 strokes
2018 Steve Stricker 66-70-69=205 −14 2 strokes
Tucson Conquistadores Classic
2017 Tom Lehman 66-67-66=199 −20 1 stroke
2016 Woody Austin 65-70-65=200 −16 1 stroke
2015 Marco Dawson 67-67-69=203 −13 2 strokes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: