Houston Open Winners And History

Houston Open Winners and History

Houston Open Winners And History Pictured: logo

The Houston Open has been played — in various forms — since 1922, when it was the Independent Insurance Agent Open. It became the Houston Open in 1946. Shell was the tournament sponsor from 1992 – 2017. The tournament was without a title sponsor in 2018 and 2019. In 2020, the tournament was sponsored by Vivint, a “smart home” company. 

In 2022, the sponsor is Cadence Bank, which operates in the Southern US.

In 2021, the sponsor was Hewlett Packard Enterprise 

In 2019, the tournament moved from its traditional position in the spring to the fall. 

Today, the tournament is played at the Golf Club of Houston (formerly known as the Redstone Golf Club) in Humble, Texas, just outside Houston. 

The Houston Open is sponsored by the Houston Golf Association. The Houston Golf Association has operated as a non-profit since 1946 for the benefit of youth oriented charities. In addition to the recurring Houston Open, the Association also has landed the 1969 US Open, the 1967 Ryder Cup, the 1990, 1997, 1999, 2001 and 2003 PGA Tour Championships, as well as other USGA championships. 

The Houston Open was played at several Houston venues until the 1970s, starting at River Oaks Country Club in 1946 before moving to Memorial Park Golf Course in 1947 and, after a year off, moving again to Pine Forest Country Club in 1949 and BraeBurn Country Club in 1950. After this period of wandering about, the event settled in at Memorial Park from 1951–1963. In 1964 and again in 1965, the event was played at Sharpstown Country Club, before moving to Champions Golf Club from 1966–1971 and Westwood Country Club in 1972. 

In 1973 the event ventured outside of Houston, being played at Quail Valley Country Club in Missouri City, Texas. In 1975, the event relocated to The Woodlands, Texas, first at Woodlands Country Club until 1984, and subsequently at the TPC at The Woodlands until 2002. In 2003, the event moved back to Houston to its current location at the Golf Club of Houston (Redstone Golf Club). 

Among the notable Houston Open winners are Arnold Palmer, Gary Player, Bobby Locke, Lee Elder, Ray Floyd and Curtis Strange. 

Three time Houston Open winners include Vijay Sing and Curtis Strange. Two time Houston Open winners include  Stuart Appleby, Bruce Crampton, Arnold Palmer, Bobby Nichols, Mike Souchak, Jack Burke, Jr., and Cary Middlecoff. 

Curtis Strange (1980), Lee Trevino (1980) and Vijay Singh (2002) hold the record for lowest aggregate score, at 266. The low 18 record is held by Fred Funk, 10-under-par 62, Woodlands TPC, 1992; and Ron Streck, 9-underpar 62, Woodlands West, 1982. 

An interesting side note. Legendary amateur golfer Frank Stranahan finished second in 1952. 

A list of Houston Open winners follows: 

YearPlayerScoreTo par
HP Enterprise
Houston Open
2022Tony Finau264-16
2021Jason Kokrak270-10
Vivint Houston Open
2020Carlos Ortiz267-13
Houston Open
2019Lanto Griffin274-14
2018Ian Poulter269-19 (PO)
Shell Houston Open
2017Russell Henley268-20
2016Jim Herman273-15
2015JB Holmes272-16 (PO)
2014Matt Jones273 (PO)-15
2013D.A. Points272-16
2012Hunter Mahan272-16
2011Phil Mickelson268-20
2010Anthony Kim276 (PO)-12
2009Paul Casey277 (PO)-11
2008Johnson Wagner272-16
2007Adam Scott271-17
2006Stuart Appleby269-19
2005Vijay Singh275-13
2004Vijay Singh277-11
2003Fred Couples267-21
2002Vijay Singh266-22
2001Hal Sutton278-10
2000Robert Allenby275-13
1999Stuart Appleby279-9
1998David Duval276-12
1997Phil Blackmar276-12
1996Mark Brooks274-14
1995Payne Stewart276-12
1994Mike Heinen272-16
1993Jim McGovern199-17
1992Fred Funk272-16
Independent Insurance Agent Open
1991Fulton Allem273-15
1990Tony Sills204-12
1989Mike Sullivan280-8
1988Curtis Strange270-18
Big “I” Houston Open
1987Jay Haas276-12
Houston Open
1986Curtis Strange274-14
1985Raymond Floyd277-11
Houston Coca-Cola Open
1984Corey Pavin274-10
1983David Graham275-9
Michelob-Houston Open
1982Ed Sneed275-9
1981Ron Streck198-15
1980Curtis Strange266-18
Houston Open
1979Wayne Levi268-16
1978Gary Player270-18
1977Gene Littler276-12
1976Lee Elder278-10
1975Bruce Crampton273-15
1974Dave Hill276-12
1973Bruce Crampton277-11
1972Bruce Devlin278-10
Houston Champions International
1971Hubert Green280-4
1970Gibby Gilbert282-2
1969No tournament – club hosted the 1969 U.S. Open
1968Roberto De Vicenzo274-10
1967Frank Beard274-10
1966Arnold Palmer275-9
Houston Classic
1965Bobby Nichols273-7
1964Mike Souchak278-6
1963Bob Charles268-12
1962Bobby Nichols278-2
1961Jay Hebert276-4
1960Bill Collins280-8
1959Jack Burke, Jr.277-11
Houston Open
1958Ed Oliver281-7
1957Arnold Palmer279-9
1956Ted Kroll277-11
1955Mike Souchak273-15
1954Dave Douglas277-11
1953Cary Middlecoff283-5
1952Jack Burke, Jr.277-11
1951Marty Furgol277-11
1950Cary Middlecoff277-11
1949Johnny Palmer272-16
1948No tournament
1947Bobby Locke277-11
1946Byron Nelson274-10
1939-45No tournament
1938Harold “Jug” McSpaden212 
1937Harry Cooper280-4
1933-36No tournament
1932Clarence Clark2204
1931No tournament
1930Al Espinosa281-7
1925-29No tournament
1924Joe Kirkwood, Sr.259 
Independent Insurance Agent Open
1923Joe Kirkwood, Sr.151 
Independent Insurance Agent Open
1922George Bowden147
 Pete O’Hara (tie)

1 thought on “Houston Open Winners And History”

  1. Who are the past winners of the Houston Open and what is the tournament’s history according to GolfBlogger.com?


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading