Low Amateur At The Masters Records

low amateur at the masters

Low Amateur At The Masters:

No amateur has ever won The Masters, but three have finished second:

  • Frank Stranahan – 1947
  • Ken Venturi – 1956
  • Charles Coe – 1961

Frank Strahanan is a particularly interesting character. The heir to the Champion Spark Plug fortune, he was not only a top amateur golfer, but from 1945 to 1954 was ranked number one in his weight class in powerlifting. After retiring from golf, he became a long distance runner, competing in 102 marathons.

Ken Venturi is best known to modern audiences for his thirty five years as a broadcaster for CBS Sports. He was, however, one of the best amateurs to every play the game. After turning pro in, he won fourteen tour events, and the 1964 US Open. That US Open became notorious for the 36 hole struggle at Congressional Country Club in 100 degree heat. Venturi suffered dehydration and doctors advised him not to play the final round. The next year, the USGA abandoned the 36 hole finishing day of the US Open. Venturi’s playing career was cut short by injuries and he retired from golf in 1967.

Charles Coe was a lifelong amateur who won two US Amateur titles. In all, he made nineteen Masters appearances, and set many Masters amateur records, including: most cuts made (15); top-24 finishes (9); top-10 finishes (3); eagles (6), rounds played (67) and most times low amateur (6). In fact, Coe won low amateur honors at Augusta in four consecutive decades: 1940s, 1950s, 1960s and 1970s. He also holds the amateur records for best finish (2nd in 1961), lowest third round score (67 in 1959), and lowest 72-hole score (281 in 1961).

The list of scores for  low amateur at the Masters follows

YearLow AmateurCountryTo parPlace
2024Neal ShipleyUnited States+12T53
2023Sam BennettUnited States-2T16
2022None made the cut
2021None made the cut
2020Andy OgletreeUnited States-2T34
2019Viktor HovlandNorway-3t32
2018Doug GhimUnited States+8t50
2017Stewart HagestadUnited States+6T36
2016Bryson DeChambeauUnited States+5T21
2015None made the cut
2014Oliver Goss Australia+1049
2013Guan Tianlang China+1258
2012Patrick Cantlay United States+747
2011Hideki Matsuyama Japan-127
2010Matteo Manassero Italy+436
2009None made the cut
2008None made the cut
2007None made the cut
2006None made the cut
2005Ryan Moore United States-115
2004Casey Wittenberg United StatesE13
2003Ricky Barnes United States+321
2002None made the cut
2001None made the cut
2000David Gossett United States1554
1999Sergio García Spain738
1998Matt Kuchar United StatesE21
1997None made the cut
1996None made the cut
1995Tiger Woods United States541
1994John Harris United States1750
1993None made the cut
1992Manny Zerman South Africa659
1991Phil Mickelson United States246
1990Chris Patton United States939
1989None made the cut
1988Jay Sigel (3) United States1239
1987Bob Lewis United States2154
1986Sam Randolph (2) United States536
1985Sam Randolph United States218
1984Rick Fehr United StatesE25
1983Jim Hallet United States940
1982Jodie Mudd United States620
1981Jay Sigel (2) United States635
1980Jay Sigel United States126
1979Bobby Clampett United States223
1978Lindy Miller United States-216
1977Bill Sander United States1149
1976Curtis Strange United States315
1975George Burns United States430
1974None made the cut
1973Ben Crenshaw (2) United States724
1972Ben Crenshaw United States719
1971Steve Melnyk United States424
1970Charles Coe (6) United States423
1969Bruce Fleisher United States1244
1968Vinny Giles United StatesE22
1967Downing Gray (2) United States936
1966Jimmy Grant United States1128
1965Downing Gray United States631
1964Deane Beman United StatesE13
1963Labron Harris, Jr. United States1032
1962Charles Coe (5) United StatesE9
1961Charles Coe (4) United States-72
1960Jack Nicklaus United States513
Billy Joe Patton (3) United States
1959Charles Coe (3) United StatesE6
1958Billy Joe Patton (2) United StatesE8
1957Harvie Ward (3) United StatesE4
1956Ken Venturi United States22
1955Harvie Ward (2) United States27
1954Billy Joe Patton United States23
1953Frank Stranahan (3) United States314
Harvie Ward United States
1952Chuck Kocsis United States914
1951Charles Coe (2) United States512
1950Frank Stranahan (2) United States914
1949Charles Coe United States716
Johnny Dawson (2) United States
1948Skee Riegel United States513
1947Frank Stranahan United States-52
1946Cary Middlecoff United States512
1943–45Cancelled due to World War II
1942Charlie Yates (5) United States1628
1941Dick Chapman United States919
1940Charlie Yates (4) United States517
1939Chick Harbert United States818
Charlie Yates (3) United States
1938Tommy Tailer United States1019
1937Charlie Yates (2) United States1327
1936Johnny Dawson United States69
1935Lawson Little United StatesE6
1934Charlie Yates United States921


Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading