Zurich Classic Winners and History

Zurich Classic Winners

Zurich Classic Winners and History

In 2017, the Zurich Classic adopted a new playing format, becoming a team event. Eighty teams of two compete with alternate shot in the first and third rounds, and better ball in the second and fourth rounds. The cut line is 35 teams and ties.

The lead member of each team is chosen according to Tour priority rankings. Partners must either be a PGA TOUR member, or gain entry through a sponsor’s exemption.

Professional golf has been played off and on in the Crescent City since 1922. In that year, Gene Sarazen won the inaugural Southern Spring Open, which had a purse of $1,000. The tournament took a hiatus from 1923 to 1937 and then returned in 1938 as the Crescent City Open. The next year, it became the New Orleans Open, and stayed that way until 1948. There was another pause from 1949 to 1957, when it returned as the Greater New Orleans Open Invitational. It’s been played every year since.

imageThe original location for the tournament was New Orleans City Park. From 1963 to 1988, it was played at Lakewood Country Club, and then English Turn Golf & Country Club from 1989 to 2004. In 2005, it moved to the TPC Louisiana, but then had to return for a year to English Turn because of the damage from hurricane Katrina; 2,000 trees were destroyed in the storm. It came back to the TPC Louisiana in 2007.

Players have two wins each at the Zurich Classic:
Henry Picard: 1939, 1941
Byron Nelson: 1945, 1946
Bo Wininger: 1962, 1963
Frank Beard: 1966, 1971
Billy Casper: 1958, 1975
Tom Watson: 1980, 1981
Chip Beck: 1988, 1992
Ben Crenshaw: 1987, 1994
Carlos Franco: 1999, 2000

Interesting facts:

  • Only one Louisiana native, David Toms, has won Louisiana’s professional golf tournament.
  • Nineteen of the tournaments winners are in the World Golf Hall of Fame.

A list of Zurich Classic winners follows:

YearPlayerCountryScoreTo par
Zurich Classic of New Orleans – Team Format
2024Rory McIlroy and Shane LowryIreland263-25
2023Nick Hardy and Davis RileyUnited States258-30
2022Xander Schauffele and Patrick CantlayUnited States259-29
2021Mark Leishman and Cameron SmithAustralia268-20
2020Cancelled COVID
2019Ryan Palmer & John RahmUnited States and Spain262-26
2018Billy Horschel (2) &
Scott Piercy
United States266-22
2017Jonas Blixt and Cameron SmithSweden and Australia261-27 (playoff)
Zurich Classic of New Orleans
2016Brian StuardUnited States201-15 (playoff)
2015Justin RoseEngland266-22
2014Noh Seung-yulSouth Korea269-19
2013Billy HorschelUnited States268-20
2012Jason DufnerUnited States269-19
2011Bubba WatsonUnited States273-15
2010Jason BohnUnited States270-18
2009Jerry KellyUnited States274-14
2008Andrés RomeroArgentina275-13
2007Nick WatneyUnited States273-15
2006Chris CouchUnited States269-19
2005Tim PetrovicUnited States275PO-13
HP Classic of New Orleans
2004Vijay SinghFiji266-22
2003Steve FleschUnited States267PO-21
Compaq Classic of New Orleans
2002K.J. ChoiSouth Korea271-17
2001David TomsUnited States266-22
COMPAQ Classic of New Orleans
2000Carlos FrancoParaguay270PO-18
1999Carlos FrancoParaguay269-19
Freeport-McDermott Classic
1998Lee WestwoodEngland273-15
1997Brad FaxonUnited States272-16
1996Scott McCarronUnited States275-13
Freeport-McMoRan Classic
1995Davis Love IIIUnited States274PO-14
1994Ben CrenshawUnited States273-15
Freeport-McMoRan Golf Classic
1993Mike StandlyUnited States281-7
1992Chip BeckUnited States276-12
USF&G Classic
1991Ian WoosnamWales275PO-13
1990David FrostSouth Africa276-12
1989Tim SimpsonUnited States274-14
1988Chip BeckUnited States262-26
1987Ben CrenshawUnited States268-20
1986Calvin PeeteUnited States269-19
1985Seve BallesterosSpain205^-11
1984Bob EastwoodUnited States272-16
1983Bill RogersUnited States274-14
1982Scott HochUnited States206^-10
USF&G New Orleans Open
1981Tom WatsonUnited States270-18
Greater New Orleans Open
1980Tom WatsonUnited States273-15
First NBC New Orleans Open
1979Hubert GreenUnited States273-15
1978Lon HinkleUnited States271-17
1977Jim SimonsUnited States273-15
1976Larry ZieglerUnited States274-14
1975Billy CasperUnited States271-17
Greater New Orleans Open
1974Lee TrevinoUnited States267-21
1973Jack NicklausUnited States280PO-8
1972Gary PlayerSouth Africa279-9
Greater New Orleans Open Invitational
1971Frank BeardUnited States276-12
1970Miller BarberUnited States278PO-10
1969Larry HinsonUnited States275PO-13
1968George ArcherUnited States271-17
1967George KnudsonCanada277-11
1966Frank BeardUnited States276-12
1965Dick MayerUnited States273-15
1964Mason RudolphUnited States283-5
1963Bo WiningerUnited States279-9
1962Bo WiningerUnited States281-7
1961Doug SandersUnited States272-16
1960Dow FinsterwaldUnited States270-18
1959Bill CollinsUnited States280-8
1958Billy CasperUnited States278PO-10
1949-57No tournament
New Orleans Open
1948Bob HamiltonUnited States280-4
1947No tournament
1946Byron NelsonUnited States277-11
1945Byron NelsonUnited States284PO-4
1944Sam ByrdUnited States285-3
1943No tournament
1942Lloyd MangrumUnited States281-7
1941Henry PicardUnited States276-12
1940Jimmy DemaretUnited States286-2
1939Henry PicardUnited States284-4
Crescent City Open
1938Harry CooperEngland285-3
1923-37No tournament
Southern (Spring) Open
1922Gene SarazenUnited States29410

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

1 thought on “Zurich Classic Winners and History”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading