Madeira Islands Open Past Winners and History


The Madeira Islands Open was founded in 1993. Given Portugal’s favorable weather, since its inception it generally has been the first European Tour event actually played in Europe. The Madeira Islands Open is, however, a bit of a sideshow, with one of the smallest prize funds on tour (€600,000 in 2013) Beginning in 2011, it is dual-ranked with the Challenge Tour. It was played opposite the Volvo World Match Play Championship in 2011 and 2013.

It is one of two European Tour events currently staged in Portugal each year, the other being the Portugal Masters. It is hosted at Clube de Golf do Santo da Serra.

A complete list of winners follows:

Year Winner Country
Madeira Islands Open – Portugal – BPI
2014 Daniel Brooks  England
2013 Peter Uihlein  United States
Madeira Islands Open – Portugal
2012 Ricardo Santos  Portugal
Madeira Islands Open
2011 Michael Hoey  Northern Ireland
Madeira Islands Open BPI – Portugal
2010 James Morrison  England[1]
2009 Estanislao Goya  Argentina
2008 Alastair Forsyth  Scotland
Madeira Islands Open BPI
2007 Daniel Vancsik  Argentina
Madeira Island Open Caixa Geral de Depositos
2006 Jean van de Velde  France
2005 Robert-Jan Derksen  Netherlands
Madeira Island Open
2004 Chris Hanell  Sweden
2003 Bradley Dredge  Wales
2002 Diego Borrego  Spain
2001 Des Smyth  Ireland
2000 Niclas Fasth  Sweden
1999 Pedro Linhart  Spain
1998 Mats Lanner (2)  Sweden
1997 Peter Mitchell  England
1996 Jarmo Sandelin  Sweden
1995 Santiago Luna  Spain
1994 Mats Lanner  Sweden
1993 Mark James  England

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading