Open de España Spanish Open Winners and History

The Open de España (Spanish Open) is Spain’s national golf championship. Founded in 1912, it was one of the inaugural events on the European Tour in 1972. Notable champions are Seve Ballesteros, Arnold Palmer, Bernhard Langer, Nick Faldo and Sergio Garcia.

The 2016 edition of the Open de España will be played at the Real Club Valderrama. It is hosted by the Sergio Garcia Foundation.

This is the first time the Spanish Open will be held at Valderrama.


Multiple Event Winners

Seventeen men are multiple tournament winners:

5 wins
Angel de la Torre: 1916, 1917, 1919, 1923, 1925

4 wins

  • Mariano Provencio: 1934, 1941, 1943, 1951
  • Gabriel Gonzalez: 1932, 1933, 1940, 1942

3 wins

  • Arnaud Massy: 1912, 1927, 1928
  • Joaquin Bernardino: 1926, 1930, 1934
  • Marcelino Morcillo: 1946, 1948, 1949
  • Mariano Provencio: 1941, 1943, 1951
  • Max Faulkner: 1952, 1953, 1957
  • Sebastián Miguel: 1954, 1960, 1967
  • Seve Ballesteros: 1981, 1985, 1995

2 wins

  • Eugène Lafitte: 1921, 1929
  • Peter Alliss: 1956, 1958
  • Ángel Miguel: 1961, 1964
  • Dale Hayes: 1971, 1979
  • Eddie Polland: 1976, 1980
  • Bernhard Langer: 1984, 1989
  • Mark James: 1988, 1997

A list of Spanish Open Winners follows:

Open de España
2018John RahmSpain268
2017No Tournament
2016Andrew JohnsonEngland285
2015 James MorrisonEngland278
2014 Miguel Angel Jimenez Spain 284 PO
2013Raphaël Jacquelin France283
Reale Seguros Open de España
2012Francesco Molinari Italy280
Open de España
2011Thomas Aiken South Africa278
2010Álvaro Quirós Spain277PO
2009Thomas Levet France270
2008Peter Lawrie Ireland273PO
2007Charl Schwartzel South Africa272
Andalucía Open de España Valle Romano
2006Niclas Fasth Sweden270PO
Jazztel Open de España en Andalucía
2005Peter Hanson Sweden280PO
Canarias Open de España
2004Christian Cévaër France271
2003Kenneth Ferrie England266PO
2002Sergio García Spain275
Via Digital Open de España
2001Robert Karlsson Sweden277
Peugeot Open de España
2000Brian Davis England274
1999Jarmo Sandelin Sweden267
1998Thomas Bjørn Denmark267
1997Mark James England277PO
Peugeot Spanish Open
1996Pádraig Harrington Ireland272
1995Seve Ballesteros Spain274
1994Colin Montgomerie Scotland277
1993Joakim Haeggman Sweden275
1992Andrew Sherborne England271
1991Eduardo Romero Argentina275PO
1990Rodger Davis Australia277
1989Bernhard Langer West Germany281
1988Mark James England262
1987Nick Faldo England286
1986Howard Clark England272
1985Seve Ballesteros Spain266
Benson & Hedges Spanish Open
1984Bernhard Langer West Germany275
1983Eamonn Darcy Ireland277
1982Sam Torrance Scotland273
1981Seve Ballesteros Spain273
1980Eddie Polland Northern Ireland276
Spanish Open
1979Dale Hayes South Africa278
1978Brian Barnes Scotland276
1977Bernard Gallacher Scotland277
1976Eddie Polland Northern Ireland282
1975Arnold Palmer United States283
1974Jerry Heard United States279
1973Neil Coles England282
1972Antonio Garrido Spain293
1971Dale Hayes South Africa275
1970Ángel Gallardo Spain284
1969Jean Garaïalde France283
1968Bob Shaw Australia286
1967Sebastián Miguel Spain265
1966Roberto De Vicenzo Argentina279
1965No tournament
1964Ángel Miguel Spain272
1963Ramón Sota Spain287
1962No tournament
1961Ángel Miguel Spain267
1960Sebastián Miguel Spain286
1959Peter Thomson Australia286
1958Peter Alliss England268
1957Max Faulkner England283
1956Peter Alliss England285
1955Conde de Lamaze (am) France271
1954Sebastián Miguel Spain268
1953Max Faulkner England271
1952Max Faulkner England275
1951Mariano Provencio Spain281
1950Antonio Cerdá Argentina
1949Marcelino Morcillo Spain280
1948Marcelino Morcillo Spain268
1947Mario Gonzalez (am) Brazil277
1946Marcelino Morcillo Spain281
1945Carlos Celles Spain274
1944Nicasio Sagardia Spain
1943Mariano Provencio Spain286
1942Gabriel González Spain264
1941Mariano Provencio Spain283
1940Gabriel González Spain
1936–39No tournament
1935Tomás Cayarga Spain279
1934Mariano Provencio Spain276
1933Gabriel González Spain270
1932Gabriel González Spain272
1931No tournament
1930Joaquin Bernardino Spain291
1929Eugène Lafitte France285
1928Arnaud Massy France278
1927Arnaud Massy France
1926Joaquin Bernardino Spain283
1925Angel de la Torre Spain
1924No tournament
1923Angel de la Torre Spain
1922No tournament
1921Eugène Lafitte France296
1920No tournament
1919Angel de la Torre Spain304
1918No tournament
1917Angel de la Torre Spain288
1916Angel de la Torre Spain293
1913–15No tournament
1912Arnaud Massy France

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: