Open de France Winners and History

open de france logoThe Open de France is the oldest national golf open in continental Europe, having been inaugurated in 1906. It has been on the European Tour schedule since that tour’s beginning in 1972.

Since 1991, the Open de France has been held at Le Golf National every year but 1999 and 2001.

In recent years, the Fédération Française de Golf has worked to enhance the stature of the event. In 2004 qualifying tournaments were introduced on the model of those for The Open Championship and the U.S. Open and are open to professionals and amateurs. The prize fund rose from €865,000 in 1999 to €4 million from 2006 to 2009, putting the Open de France in the top group of European Tour events (excluding the majors and the World Golf Championships, which are co-sanctioned by the U.S. based PGA Tour). For 2010 and 2011 the prize fund was reduced to €3 million.

imageEngland’s Aubrey Boomer holds the record with five French Open titles, with the last coming in 1931. Seve Ballesteros won four.

Of interest to American audiences is that Byron Nelson won the title in 1955.

Title Sponsor Alstom is a French multinational corporation which focuses on electricity and rail transport.

A complete list of Open de France winners follows:

Alstom Open de France
2018Le Golf NationalAlexander NorenEngland277(-7)
2017Le Golf NationalTommy FleetwoodEngland272(-12)
2016Le Golf NationalThongchai JaideeThailand273 (-11)
2015Le Golf NationalBernd WeisbergerAustria271 (-13)
2014Le Golf National Graeme McDowell (2) Northern Ireland 279 (-5)
2013Le Golf NationalGraeme McDowellNorthern Ireland275 (−9)
2012Le Golf NationalMarcel SiemGermany276 (−8)
2011Le Golf NationalThomas LevetFrance277 (−7)
2010Le Golf NationalMiguel Ángel JiménezSpain273 (−11)PO
Open de France ALSTOM
2009Le Golf NationalMartin KaymerGermany271 (−13)PO
2008Le Golf NationalPablo LarrazábalSpain269 (−15)
2007Le Golf NationalGraeme StormEngland277 (−7)
2006Le Golf NationalJohn BickertonEngland273 (−11)
Open de France
2005Le Golf NationalJean-François Remésy (2)France273 (−11)PO
2004Le Golf NationalJean-François RemésyFrance272 (−12)
2003Le Golf NationalPhilip GoldingEngland273 (−15)
Novotel Perrier Open de France
2002Le Golf National Malcolm MacKenzieEngland274 (−14)
2001LyonJosé María OlazábalSpain268 (−12)
2000Le Golf NationalColin MontgomerieScotland272 (−16)
1999MédocRetief Goosen (2)South Africa272 (−12)PO
Peugeot Open de France
1998Le Golf National Sam TorranceScotland276 (−12)
1997Le Golf NationalRetief GoosenSouth Africa271 (−17)
1996Le Golf NationalRobert AllenbyAustralia272 (−16)PO
1995Le Golf NationalPaul BroadhurstEngland274 (−14)
1994Le Golf NationalMark RoeEngland274 (−14)
1993Le Golf NationalCostantino RoccaItaly273 (−11)PO
1992Le Golf NationalMiguel Ángel MartínSpain276 (−8)
1991Le Golf National Eduardo RomeroArgentina281 (−7)
1990ChantillyPhilip WaltonRepublic of Ireland275 (−5)PO
1989Chantilly Nick Faldo (3)England273 (−7)
1988ChantillyNick Faldo (2)England274 (−6)
1987Saint-Cloud José RiveroSpain269 (−19)
1986La BoulieSeve Ballesteros (4)Spain269 (−19)
1985Saint-GermainSeve Ballesteros (3)Spain263 (−21)
1984Saint-CloudBernhard LangerGermany270 (−18)
Paco Rabanne Open de France
1983La BoulieNick FaldoEngland277 (−11)PO
1982Saint-Nom-la-BretècheSeve Ballesteros (2)Spain278 (−10)
1981Saint-GermainSandy LyleScotland270 (−14)
1980Saint-CloudGreg NormanAustralia268 (−20)
French Open
1979Lyon Bernard GallacherScotland284 (−8)
1978La BauleDale HayesSouth Africa269 (−19)
1977Le TouquetSeve BallesterosSpain282 (−6)
1976Le TouquetVincent TshabalalaSouth Africa272 (−16)
1975La BoulieBrian BarnesScotland281 (−7)
1974ChantillyPeter Oosterhuis (2)England284 (+4)
1973La BouliePeter OosterhuisEngland280 (−4)
1972Biarritz & La NivelleBarry JaeckelUnited States265 (−23)PO
1971Biarritz & La NivelleLiang-HuanTaiwan262 (−10)
Open de France
1970Biarritz & ChantacoDavid GrahamAustralia268
1969Saint-Nom-la-BretècheJean GaraïaldeFrance277 PO
1968Saint-CloudPeter ButlerEngland272
1967Saint-GermainBernard HuntEngland271
1966La BoulieDenis HutchinsonSouth Africa274
1965Saint-Nom-la-BretècheRamón SotaSpain268
1964ChantillyRoberto De Vicenzo (3)Argentina272PO
1963Saint-CloudBruce DevlinAustralia273
1962Saint-GermainAlan MurrayAustralia274
1961La BoulieKel NagleAustralia271
1960Saint-CloudRoberto De Vicenzo (2)Argentina275
1959La BoulieDave ThomasWales276
1958Saint-GermainFlory Van Donck (3)Belgium276PO
1957Saint-CloudFlory Van Donck (2)Belgium266
1956DeauvilleÁngel MiguelSpain277
1955La Boulie Byron NelsonUnited States271
1954Saint-CloudFlory Van DonckBelgium275
1953La BoulieBobby Locke (2)South Africa276
1952Saint-GermainBobby LockeSouth Africa268
1951Saint-CloudHassan HassaneinEgypt278
1950ChantillyRoberto De VicenzoArgentina279
1949Saint-GermainUgo GrappasonniItaly275
1948Saint-CloudFirmin CavaloFrance287
1947ChantillyHenry Cotton (2)England285
1946Saint-CloudHenry CottonEngland269
1940–45No tournament due to World War II
1939Le TouquetMartin PoseArgentina285
1938FourqueuxMarcel Dallemagne (3)France282
1937Saint-CloudMarcel Dallemagne (2)France278
1936Saint-GermainMarcel DallemagneFrance277 PO
1935Le Touquet Sid Brews (2)South Africa293
1934DieppeSid BrewsSouth Africa284
1933ChantillyBert GaddEngland283
1932Saint-CloudArthur LaceyEngland295
1931DeauvilleAubrey Boomer (5)England291
1930DieppeErnest WhitcombeEngland282
1929FourqueuxAubrey Boomer (4)England283
1928La BoulieCyril Tolley (amateur) (2)England283
1927Saint-GermainGeorge Duncan (2)Scotland299
1926Saint-CloudAubrey Boomer (3)England280
1925ChantillyArnaud Massy (4)France291 PO
1924La BoulieCyril Tolley (amateur)England290
1923DieppeJames OckendenEngland288
1922La BoulieAubrey Boomer (2)England286
1921Le TouquetAubrey BoomerEngland284 PO
1920La BoulieWalter HagenUnited States298 PO
1915–19No tournament due to World War I
1914Le TouquetJames Douglas EdgarEngland288
1913ChantillyGeorge DuncanScotland304
1912La BoulieJean GassiatFrance289
1911La BoulieArnaud Massy (3)France284
1910La BoulieJames BraidScotland298
1909La BoulieJohn Henry Taylor (2)England293
1908La BoulieJohn Henry TaylorEngland300
1907La BoulieArnaud Massy (2)France298
1906La BoulieArnaud MassyFrance292

1 thought on “Open de France Winners and History”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: