Point O’ Woods Golf & Country Club Poised to Host 38th Michigan Junior Amateur

MI Golf Ball 5Point O’ Woods Golf & Country Club Poised to Host 38th Michigan Junior State Amateur

BENTON HARBOR – The best in amateur golf for the last 50 years have played at Point O’ Woods Golf & Country Club, which makes it a perfect venue to test the best junior golfers in the state in the 38th Michigan Junior State Amateur presented by Pepsi Monday through Thursday.

Point O’Woods dates to 1958 when Robert Trent Jones Sr., a golf course architecture legend, completed what he considered perhaps his finest course in America. For 39 years the Point was ranked in Golf Digest’s Top 100 Courses, and it is best known as a longtime host of the Western Amateur Championship. The Point was first host of the Western in 1963 and was home of the championship from 1971 through 2009. It will be the host once again in 2019.

Tom Weiskopf, Andy North, Ben Crenshaw, Curtis Strange, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Dustin Johnson, Rickie Fowler, Justin Leonard, Adam Scott and many of the other top names in golf since the 1970s have played the course in the Western Amateur.

In May of 2012 the Point broke ground on a new clubhouse. Construction of the project was completed in July of 2013.

This week a field of 84 golfers who were either exempt or survived sectional qualifying will vie for the state championship of junior golfers.

All the players are boys 18-and-under who have not yet attended college, and they will play 36-holes of stroke play on Monday to determine a medalist/top seed and the field of 32 golfers who advance to match play.

First-round or round of 32 matches are Tuesday with second round and quarterfinals on Wednesday and semifinal matches and the championship match on Thursday.

Defending champion James Piot Canton returns to head the field that will also include notables Andrew Walker of Battle Creek and Ben Smith of Novi.

The list of defending champions in the history of the tournament is impressive and includes Ryan Brehm, Joey Garber, Andrew Chapman, Danny Janson, Michael Harris and Jeff Roth.

For more information about Point O’ Woods visit www.pointowoods.com
For more information about the champions visit www.gam.org

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading