Principal Charity Classic Winners and History

Principal Charity Classic

A fixture on the Champions Tour since 2001, The Principal Charity Classic presented by Wells Fargo is played at Wakonda Club in Des Moines, Iowa.

Principal Financial Group has been the title sponsor for the last ten years. Prior to that, the sponsor was Allianz.

The charity partner for the Principal Charity Classic are the “FORE Our Kids” charities, which include the Blank Children’s Hospital, Bravo Greater Des Moines, Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines, Mercy Medical Center, United Way of Central Iowa and Variety – the Children’s Charity of Iowa. An additional one hundred charities are supported through the Birdies for Charity Partners.

A list of Principal Charity Classic Winners follows:

Principal Charity Classic Winners

YearChampionWinning scoreMargin
Principal Charity Classic
2015Mark Calcavecchia204 (?12)1 stroke
2014Tom Pernice, Jr.204 (?12)Playoff
2013Russ Cochran205 (?11)1 stroke
2012Jay Haas197 (?16)5 strokes
2011Bob Gilder199 (?14)1 stroke
2010Nick Price199 (?14)4 strokes
2009Mark McNulty203 (?10)Playoff
2008Jay Haas203 (?10)1 stroke
2007Jay Haas201 (?12)3 strokes
Allianz Championship
2006Gil Morgan197 (?16)1 stroke
2005Tom Jenkins204 (?9)Playoff
2004D. A. Weibring204 (?9)3 strokes
2003Don Pooley200 (?13)3 strokes
2002Bob Gilder200 (?16)1 stroke
2001Jim Thorpe199 (?14)2 strokes
Principal Charity Classic Winners. Previously known as the Allianz Championship

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: