Race To Dubai Winners and History

Race To Dubai Winners and HistoryRace To Dubai Winners and History

The Race To Dubai is a season-long competition on the European PGA Tour which culminates in the DP World Tour Championship in Dubai (thus, the “Race to Dubai.”) The Race To Dubai replaced the European Tour’s longstanding Order of Merit rankings in 2009. In both cases, final standings are based on earnings in qualifying events during the season.

Earnings in the Race to Dubai are calculated in Euros.

The winner of the Race to Dubai receives a prize of $1.5 million, and a ten-year European Tour exemption. In addition, the winner is presented with the Harry Vardon Trophy. The Harry Vardon Trophy is a separate issue from the Vardon Trophy, which is awarded by the PGA of America to the PGA TOUR’s scoring average leader.

As currently construed, the Race to Dubai ends with a playoff system consisting of three tournaments: The Turkish Airlines Open, the Nedbank Golf Challenge and the finals in the DP World Tour Championship. The Turkish Airlines Open field consists of the top 70 available players from the Race to Dubai, three Turkish players, and five unrestricted tournament invitations. The Nedbank Golf Challenge Field consists of the top 64 available players from the current year Race to Dubai standings, the defending champion, the winner of the Sunshine Tour order of merit from previous year, and tournament invitations. Finally, the DP World Tour Championship field is comprised of the leading 60 players in the Race to Dubai at the start of the tournament.

From 1975 to 2008, the Race To Dubai was known as the Order of Merit. Rankings in the Order of Merit were based on either Euros (1999 – 2008) or on Pounds Sterling (1975 – 1998).

Prior to 1975, the Order of Merit was based on a points system. Under that system, points did not necessarily equate to earnings.

Colin Montgomerie holds the record for most Order of Merit/Race To Dubai titles, with eight. Seve Ballesteros won six. Among active players, Rory McIlroy has three.

A list of Race To Dubai Winners follows:

Race To Dubai Winners

YearRace to Dubai leaderCountryPoints
2018Francesco MolinariItaly6,041,521
2017Tommy FleetwoodEngland5,420,530
2016Henrik Stenson (2/2) Sweden5,289,506
2015Rory McIlroy (3/3) Northern Ireland4,727,253
2014Rory McIlroy (2/3) Northern Ireland7,149,503
2013Henrik Stenson (1/2) Sweden4,103,796
YearRace to Dubai leaderCountryEarnings (€)
2012Rory McIlroy (1/3) Northern Ireland5,519,118
2011Luke Donald England5,323,400
2010Martin Kaymer Germany4,461,011
2009Lee Westwood (2/2) England4,237,762
YearOrder of Merit leaderCountryEarnings (€)
2008Robert Karlsson Sweden2,732,748
2007Justin Rose England2,944,945
2006Pádraig Harrington Ireland2,489,337
2005Colin Montgomerie (8/8) Scotland2,794,223
2004Ernie Els (2/2) South Africa4,061,905
2003Ernie Els (1/2) South Africa2,975,374
2002Retief Goosen (2/2) South Africa2,360,128
2001Retief Goosen (1/2) South Africa2,862,806
2000Lee Westwood (1/2) England3,125,147
1999Colin Montgomerie (7/8) Scotland1,822,880
YearOrder of Merit leaderCountryEarnings (£)
1998Colin Montgomerie (6/8) Scotland993,077
1997Colin Montgomerie (5/8) Scotland798,948
1996Colin Montgomerie (4/8) Scotland875,146
1995Colin Montgomerie (3/8) Scotland835,051
1994Colin Montgomerie (2/8) Scotland762,720
1993Colin Montgomerie (1/8) Scotland613,683
1992Nick Faldo (2/2) England708,522
1991Seve Ballesteros (6/6) Spain545,354
1990Ian Woosnam (2/2) Wales574,166
1989Ronan Rafferty Northern Ireland400,311
1988Seve Ballesteros (5/6) Spain451,560
1987Ian Woosnam (1/2) Wales253,717
1986Seve Ballesteros (4/6) Spain242,209
1985Sandy Lyle (3/3) Scotland162,553
1984Bernhard Langer (2/2) West Germany139,344
YearOfficial Money List leaderCountryEarnings (£)
1983Nick Faldo (1/2) England119,416
1982Greg Norman Australia66,406
1981Bernhard Langer (1/2) West Germany81,036
1980Sandy Lyle (2/3) Scotland6,6060
YearOrder of Merit leaderCountryEarnings (£)
1979Sandy Lyle (1/3) Scotland49,233
1978Seve Ballesteros (3/6) Spain54,348
1977Seve Ballesteros (2/6) Spain46,436
1976Seve Ballesteros (1/6) Spain39,504
1975Dale Hayes South Africa20,508
Race To Dubai Winners, and Order of Merit Winners during the era in which the Order of Merit was tracked by earnings.

The list of Order of Merit winners below are during the points system era.

Order of Merit Winners

YearOrder of Merit leaderCountry
1974Peter Oosterhuis (4/4) England
1973Peter Oosterhuis (3/4) England
1972Peter Oosterhuis (2/4) England
1971Peter Oosterhuis (1/4) England
1970Neil Coles (2/2) England
1969Bernard Gallacher Scotland
1968Brian Huggett Wales
1967Malcolm Gregson England
1966Peter Alliss (2/2) England
1965Bernard Hunt (3/3) England
1964Peter Alliss (1/2) England
1963Neil Coles (1/2) England
1962Christy O'Connor (2/2) Ireland
1961Christy O'Connor (1/2) Ireland
1960Bernard Hunt (2/3) England
1959Dai Rees (2/2) Wales
1958Bernard Hunt (1/3) England
1957Eric Brown Scotland
1956Harry Weetman (2/2) England
1955Dai Rees (1/2) Wales
1954Bobby Locke (3/3) South Africa
1953Flory Van Donck Belgium
1952Harry Weetman (1/2) England
1951John Panton Scotland
1950Bobby Locke (2/3) South Africa
1949Charlie Ward (2/2) England
1948Charlie Ward (1/2) England
1947Norman Von Nida Australia
1946Bobby Locke (1/3) South Africa
1940–45No award
1939Reg Whitcombe England
1938Henry Cotton England
1937Charles Whitcombe England
A list of the order of Merit winners in the points system era.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading